We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very impressed with our stay at Chelsea Park Motor Lodge. We stayed for 2 nights over Anzac weekend.

We had a two bedroom which was very clean and comfortable. Beds and linen were good quality, bathroom was tidy, spa bath was awesome and the kitchen was well equipped. It was a bit cold in the mornings when we got up but the unit seems to be well insulated as it didn't bother us at all during the night. The hosts were also very friendly and were able to help us plan our trip around and out of Nelson.


The only thing that was an issue was that we booked through booking.com which says wifi is free, well the wifi is free but is limited to 250mb for 2 devices. Given that it was several days since we had had access to wifi, my sister and were checking our emails, facebook, the news etc and we ran out that same day, which seems a bit strange! The owner was kind enough to give us more access free of charge but normally if you run out it's $5 per 250mb. I don't really see the point in selling 'free wi-fi' as a service if it's not unlimited.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    65
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
161
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Chelsea Park Motor Lodge was a great place to stay while I was in Nelson working. The hosts were absolutely delightful; friendly and very helpful. It is great to see that the hosts want to ensure you have the very best stay possible, which is exactly what Lee and Barry did. The rooms were well equipped, tidy, clean and comfortable. So thank you very much and my colleague and I will definitely be coming back to stay with you later in the year.

Oh and 'Squirrel' was a lovely wee cat :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaBiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for five nights and found this motel to be of excellent quality, with great customer service. Nothing was any trouble for the owners of this motel. On top of their great standard services, they were also able to provide us with laundry and printing services, in addition to great local help. My flight was also cancelled on my way home but the owners saved me a room and made sure it was all ready to go upon my return and ensured I was safely tucked away for the night. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely return again (which I'm going to!). The only thing that lets this motel down is the internet - it drops out frequently and is quite slow. It never loaded photos or videos for me which is a big part of my job. Otherwise, just fantastic!

Room Tip: Spa bath was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GurlRacerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for a week and very happy with the accommodation and service provided by the owners who were always helpful. Short walk into the centre of Nelson which is an engaging small town with plenty of cafes,bars and restaurants.We booked though HOTELS.COM but realised that it would of been cheaper to book direct off the hotels own site and found this to be the case in pretty much all of the accommodation we booked in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjimmy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excellent. Easy to find and very convenient for the centre of Nelson. Very comfortable - with everything you could possibly need - very clean and the staff were very friendly; we would certainly use it again. Nelson was a great place to visit - we found an excellent place to eat at 'Harry's' - great beer.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Chelsea park was a great place to stay. We stayed here before and after we did the Abel Tasman track. It's a close walk to town which is only 5 minutes away. The owners were very helpful and let us leave our bags at reception after check out so we could look around town. I highly recommend this place to stay when in Nelson!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcbeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Friendly and helpful hosts, situation reasonably close to central Nelson. We were in one of the spacious two bedroom units, and found that everything we needed was provided. Our party was two married couples, and only one double bed was available - it would have been better if the twin beds in the other room could have been combined into another double. This apart, everything else was very good and we would definitely use the Chelsea Park again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwijock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Property: Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Address: 214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chelsea Park Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge is a Qualmark rated 4 Star + motel, located in central Nelson city. Our boutique motel has only 10 units, all with kitchen facilities, free high speed WIFI and SKY Guest Select with over 50 channels. Our guests tell us we have a clean and luxurious motel with the most comfortable beds and best showers ever! With the tourist attractions of Nelson and surrounds on our doorstep, Lee & Barry look forward to hosting you and providing for your accommodation needs. For the best rates and no booking fees, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Chelsea Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Chelsea Park Hotel
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing