We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Barry & Lee were very nice and made my stay more welcoming. The room I had was quite nice and had a nice little walk out with a table and chair which I used to lounge and read outside. The room itself is nice, It was spacious and the TV has 50 channels. It is central in the town so you can walk downtown to the many restaurants and to the market if you are there on a Saturday (highly recommended!). Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed only one night in Nelson, so that we could visit the famed Nelson Market on Saturday morning, and Chelsea Park was just perfect for this.

The motel is on the main road, but the rooms extend behind, away from the traffic, and noise wasn't an issue. The room was mid-sized, good for our stay, and was in tip-top condition and well appointed, with a nice outlook to a small private courtyard. Room and bathroom were both spotless, and the bed was most comfortable.

The location was perfect, with a ten-minute walk to the market place. This was good, because the market gets very busy from about 10:30am, and we glad to be able to get there early.

The owners were friendly and helpful, even allowing us to leave our car at the motel until we were ready to head off.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapientpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Barry and Lee were friendly and helpful with all requests fulfilled without fuss and had good local knowledge that enhanced our Nelson experience. As a family it was nice to have enough comfortable seating for us all and a table to eat at. A lot of little things that make a holiday enjoyable for us were ticked off; nice wine glasses, decent sized coffee mugs, sufficient utensils and pots to be able to prepare family sized meals.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at chelsea park motor lodge. Service was fantastic -including the complimentary continental breakfast. Location was superb just a short walk to town. Only downside was the traffic noise in the morning -despite the double glazing.
Overall a great place to stay in nelson :-) thank you Lee & Barry

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniE016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My partner & I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Chelsea Park Motor Lodge. It was easy to find with off street parking & a short walk into town. We stayed in No 7 which was in excellent condition with all the extras you require with an upstairs view & balcony which was great plus the hosts Lee & Barry were very helpful & friendly. We'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waverill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at Chelsea Park and couldn't fault it. The Owners Lee and Barry are so welcoming and the rooms spotless, we stayed for 2 nights in room 6 which they have just renovated and it was 5 star plus with all the furnishings plus free wifi and sky 50+ tv. We would stay again in a heartbeat and advise you to as well.

Room Tip: Choose room 6 just 5 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was the first of several places I stayed in New Zealand and easily the best. The room was large, clean, and equipped to a high standard with full kitchenette facilities for self-catering. The lodge was well located on the road in to Nelson from the airport and within easy walking distance of the town centre. However it was the friendly welcome of the owners, Lee and Barry that made it particularly special as they took a personal interest in ensuring any difficulties were dealt with and helped considerably with onward plans and arrangements.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_John_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#8 of 41 in Nelson
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Park Motor Lodge

Address: 214 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $101 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chelsea Park Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge is a Qualmark rated 4 Star + motel, located in central Nelson city. Our boutique motel has only 10 units, all with kitchen facilities, free high speed WIFI and SKY Guest Select with over 50 channels. Our guests tell us we have a clean and luxurious motel with the most comfortable beds and best showers ever! With the tourist attractions of Nelson and surrounds on our doorstep, Paul and Jo look forward to hosting you and providing for your accommodation needs. For the best rates and no booking fees, book direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nelson
Chelsea Park Hotel
Nelson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing