We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views of Nelson Harbour.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour View Apartments
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of Nelson Harbour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

My wife and I stay at Harbour View Apartments Nelson in Oct 09 for 2 nights.

The apartment is simply supurb with the comfy lounges and beds etc. The views from all the windows are "to die" for.

Although we did not have great weather during our stay (it rained the whole 2 days we were there) it did give us a chance to make full use of the apartment.

It can be a little difficult to find the place, but once you have, it is well worth the effort.

Overall, I would recommend this place to any traveller who likes to stay in luxury surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneySKI_ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

On our honeymoon of 3 weeks, we traveled and stayed at B&B's, large hotel chains, and small inns. My husband and I both agree that our favorite 3 nights were our stay in Nelson at the Harbor View apt. We were able to do our laundry, cook a meal in the kitchen, have drinks on the deck all within a few minutes of the town. It was convenient to Abel Tasman Park where we spent some time hiking and horseback-riding too! Richard and James were on call to answer any questions as our friendly hosts. We know that if we come to NZ in the future, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runrslegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

The good news is that the two bed apartment is lovely and has terrific views over the harbour. It's well equipped with most things you'll need for a few days and is close to a good restaurant. You are also able to do your washing.

The bad news is that if anyone has difficulty with stairs, walking down VERY steep hills or driving down a vertiginous driveway then I would suggest this place is a definite NO. There is nobody to help you up 33 wooden steps to the apartment with your luggage or those heavy bags of food you'll need. There is no "Welcome pack" so you'll need to provide virtually everything.

The advertised spa outside was not functioning.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The inaccesibility
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB-Moseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePunaWai, Manager at Harbour View Apartments, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
Thank you to the member for their helpful review. I'll just respond to the "bad".

There are a few steps. It's a 3 level property (including the basement garage), Apartment 1 in on the 1st level up & Apartment 2 is on the top level. There are well spaced & railed steps up to each. We have always had the following sentence on our website:

"There are steps to each apartment which make it unsuitable for people with walking difficulties."

Harbour View Apartments are self-contained & unhosted. We make clear arrival arrangements before a guest's arrival & are very happy to (& regularly do) rendezvous with guests who request assistance.

The welcome pack consists of flowers, fresh milk, cookies & tea/coffee.

The spa has been decommissioned. References to the spa were deleted from the website then. We also make it clear in the emails sent during the booking process.

James Taylor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawke's bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

we loved the apartments from the moment we arrived. the heating had been turned on and there were yellow roses to welcome us. just what we needed to begin our luxurious weekend away. we loved the view of course but especially the couches which we hardly left all weekend. everything was fabulous and thought out in advance. we would definitely stay in the apartments again anytime of year.

  • Liked — the space, the couches and the view
  • Disliked — we ran out of toilet paper - one roll for two women over a weekend is not enough
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chill0utqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in January 2005 during a five-week trip in NZ and felt this was the best accommodation we found.
The apartments are located a couple of miles from the centre of Nelson, set in a residential area on a very steep hill overlooking the harbour (see picture). This gives great views, especially from the large outside deck, a great place to watch the yachts (particularly when they have their Wednesday evening races).
We stayed in the one-bedroom apartment on the lower level (but given that it is built on a hill, this has to be accessed by steps up from the street; the two-bedroom apartment is above.)
You enter the apartment via a large open plan living area. It is furnished to a very high standard with beautiful wooden floors. It has a large lounge with separate “nook” seating area, an ideal place to relax and take in the view. There’s a stylish kitchen area equipped to a good standard (even providing a good supply of cookies and fruit) and dining area with table and four chairs.
From the lounge there was a short flight of (rather slippery) stairs to the bedroom, small but adequate. There was a large chest of drawers but the only wardrobe was set high into the wall and the only way to use it was to climb into it!
Another short flight of stairs from the lounge led up to the utility area equipped with a washing machine and tumble dryer, hidden behind nice wooden louvre doors. This led through to the bathroom (heated floor a nice touch!) – but no bath, only a shower. Again there were impressive views.
One of the most appealing features was the outside spa (see picture). This was shared with the apartment upstairs but you could “book” it using the blackboard by the gate to the spa area and in four nights we never had a problem using it when we wanted to. Set in lush foliage, this was totally private and a great place to enjoy the view, sipping a glass of fine local wine.
All this for only NZD $200.00 for a couple per night. The one downside for the whole apartment is that it would not be suitable at all for those experiencing difficulties with steps.
It is within walking distance (though a very steep walk) to several restaurants and take aways, in particular the waterfront Boatshed Restaurant is recommended for fish and seafood.

Helpful?
10 Thank Lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePunaWai, Manager at Harbour View Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Please note: the spa has been decommissioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
3.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.8 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartments

Property: Harbour View Apartments
Address: 5 Harbour Terrace | Stepneyville, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking harbour, island, bay & mountain views ensure either of the 2 apartments are ideal places from which to enjoy the magical view: from the maritime traffic in the harbour to the grand vista of Tasman Bay & the western mountain ranges. A 1 bedroom apartment is on the lower level. It has beautiful wood floors & a large living area with big sliding windows & doors. There's a compact kitchen, tiled bathroom & laundry appliances. The 2 bedroom is above. It also has a large open living area & big windows & sliding doors. There's a full kitchen & separate laundry. The higher elevation give it earlier sun & a slightly more expansive view.The property is on the hillside (away from the busy waterfront highway). Nelson's renown waterfront dining strip is very nearby, at the bottom of the hill (2 mins walk down). The township is a 4 min drive. Abel Tasman National Park is easily doable as a day trip. There is a steep driveway with good parking & turning room at the top. There are approximately 16 steps up to Apartment 1 & another 16 to Apartment 2. These are normal spaced steps with good handrails. The property is managed by James and Richard of Te Puna Wai Lodge, Nelson. We manage a range of vacation properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Harbour View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing