We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Nelson
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
216
128
27
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
216
128
27
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flames restaurant on site restaurant restaurant staff great room close to town business trip comfortable stay studio apartment spa bath good size full kitchen bed was comfortable reception staff min walk swimming pool great place to stay clean rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is great to stay. It is the go to place for our family to stay for either a mini holiday or for any reason in Nelson. The staff are always friendly and the rooms are a great size. The kids love the swimming pool as well.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Famof4NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Famof4NZ, thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor in regards to your mini stay in Nelson - we are pleased that everyone enjoyed the stay and that the kids love the swimming pool - it certainly is a popular spot after a day of sightseeing
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was a great apartment for a family are a couple of family’s it had 4 bedrooms all the modern com. Excellent place to visit with family! Great bush walks in the Able Tasman national park and being at the center of NZ was great. Would come again anytime.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gjandrfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello gjandrfoley, a family holiday in a large apartment is always such a great memory creator and we are so pleased you enjoyed our 4 bedroom family apartment whilst in Nelson and visiting the region. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon
Kind regards
Kim and the team at The Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really good rate (compared to everything else in Nelson), friendly staff, good food and clean and spacious rooms. We got upgraded on check in to a huge suite which had us worried we had the price wrong!!!

Great place... highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank IrelandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and recommendation Irelandlan. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities here
Kind regards
Kim and the team at The Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I have rated a 3 for a Motel as I would not call this place a hotel. Spacious romm with equipped kitchen, a deck, comfortable beds and a coin operated laundry made for a comfortable stay. The pool was always full of children so no swimming for us. We choose this place to stay because they had a gym, they do not have a gym, they have access to Snap Fitness which is a 15min walk away and is closed. I would look at other options for accommodation when I visit Nelson. Reception staff were friendly, House keeping is the worst, floor were not cleaned or vacuumed in the 5 days we stayed and always something not replaced such as coffee, toilet rolls, tea towel, etc.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Jennie G, thank you for your review although I was sorry to read that we did not deliver an experience reflective of our normal standard. I have discussed all your concerns with our Head of Housekeeping and they in turn have focused on retraining all our team since we cannot pin point when you stayed. Please accept my apology for your experience.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Booked in the last free day prior to arrival. Booked on line and direct with the hotel, which was the cheapest way. The website even offered a discount voucher.
The only comment we had for the room was that it would have been nice to have a long dress mirror available as I was travelling for work and it was hard to check my appearance.

Room tip: Book via the hotel website
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bscassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear bcassidy, thank you for your review - we do appreciate direct bookings and try to make this as easy as possible for our guests. Your feedback in regards to a mirror is a great one and will certainly be something we consider in the future.
Kidn regards
Kim and the team at The Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews