We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Vegetarian food”

East Street Vegetarian Cafe and Bar
Ranked #9 of 171 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Vegetarian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Cosy restaurant with a great variety of vegetarian food at reasonable prices. We particularly enjoyed the stuffed vegetables which included a huge range of flavours that went together very well. The deserts were beautifully presented and delicious. Well kept beers and a number of nice wines available by the glass completed the meal. Our favourite Nelson restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    48
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our new haunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is the 1st time we've had to develop a strategy for a restaurant. It has a menu from which you want everything: making the choice is difficult. So we're methodically working our way through it. And loving it.

Polenta fingers....mmmmmmmm

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TePunaWaiLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burger in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Had the mvp burger and it is seriously the best burger I have ever had. The chips were fantastic aswell as great service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We're regulars at East St and have watched it's reputation and patronage grow from word of mouth. Neither my partner nor I are vegetarian, but the food here is so good you absolutely don't miss the meat at all. The platters are *excellent* value (and a medium one is definitely enough for two people), and we have them every other time we go. With a recent menu facelift there are lots of new dishes to try. Most recently we had the beer battered vege as an entree (the dark dipping sauce is amazeballs, it also comes with a satay dipping sauce), then giant cheese stuffed bean balls (HUGE pile of herby mash potatoe with it) and the stuffed roasted vegetables. The beer battered veg were the winners of the day, but the green salad (which comes with the mains) is simply the tastiest I've ever had - I've never ever enthused about salad before. So good.
Friendly welcoming alternative hosts and great atmosphere, this place is simply the best in Nelson.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Glacier
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome place to have some food and a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great quirky place with an extensive vegetarian menu. I was dubious as it is vegetarian but found it very filling and beautiful food (Local Produce). Also found it has some of the best entertainment in Nelson

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Street Vegetarian Cafe and Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to East Street Vegetarian Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing