We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Styx

The Styx
Ranked #16 of 198 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sited on the Wakefield Quay Wharf offering spectacular views of the Tasman Bay with its amazing sunsets The Styx takes advantage of the fresh seafood bounty and agricultural produce to offer you delicious and innovative dishes. We are a relaxed casual dining experience with a bar and outside dining available downstairs and an upstairs dining area with 70 seats which makes it perfect for functions. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is very good value for food. The antipasto platter is yum and very filling. They have specials for pensioners on Mondays and Tues offer buy 1 pizza, get 1 free when dining inn Very reasonable prices and great value for money. Good Service too :)

Thank denisej025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamills1, Owner at The Styx, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thanks for this great review Denise. hopefully now you have found us we'll see you next time your down this way. Summer evenings on the waterfront are magical

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 434 of 476 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a very nice lunch at Styx on the quay in Nelson. Superb views of the harbor and a very good selection on the menu. Staff were very attentive and service was in good time. Would go again for sure. Give it a go I am sure you will have a great time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamills1, Owner at The Styx, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch. Thanks for spreading the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great deal for a big group
awesome view
amazing food.
The serivce was fantastic too
Could not have wished for a better place to spend the last night with the sports team and thier supporters

Thank KimmyJGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamills1, Owner at The Styx, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thanks Kimmy.
Our kitchen staff, led by Chef Joe have got our function menus pretty well nailed down and the front of house team work hard to make sure every thing goes smoothly.
Very glad you enjoyed it and please keep spreading the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Family gathering of approx. 50, set menu well organised to cater for both adults and children. Starters, mains & desserts all excellent in size, variety and taste, and well presented.
Very impressed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I visited The Styx for a family dinner recently and was very impressed! Friendly and highly approachable staff who make you feel welcomed right from the moment you step through the door. Warm and welcoming restaurant, especially in this winter cold! Delicious meals, and very neatly and professionally presented to boot! An all around great dining experience. It was my first time at the new restaurant, it's great to see the space being made such great use of. I wish The Styx all the best and really hope they stick around so I can come back for more of their wonderful service. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great meal and a great time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NellyWill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Styx also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Styx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing