We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit for sure”
Review of The Styx

The Styx
Ranked #11 of 177 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sited on the Wakefield Quay Wharf offering spectacular views of the Tasman Bay with its amazing sunsets The Styx takes advantage of the fresh seafood bounty and agricultural produce to offer you delicious and innovative dishes. We are a relaxed casual dining experience with a bar and outside dining available downstairs and an upstairs dining area with 70 seats which makes it perfect for functions. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for sure”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited nelson recently and had an evening meal, though the portion size was great and the flat bread delicious. Great food and great value

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartnapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    143
    36
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I thought the menu was varied enough to suit a wide range of tastes, great lunch and reasonably priced. Awesome view to enjoy as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kazlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All-round Fantastic”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A group of 12 people went to The Styx for my daughter's 18th birthday and all I can say is that it was fantastic!! We had pre-organised with the restaurant to have platters to share with the table so that everyones' tastes and hunger levels were catered to. The chefs did a wonderful job, and delivered four lots of gorgeous platters, as well as extras to go with them - breads and dips to start, followed by antipasto, then meat and seafood and finally the wonderful desserts, made specific to my daughter's favourites!! There was so much food to go around, all fresh and all delicious. The staff were attentive and made sure that everything was perfect. The meal was extremely well priced, as were the drinks! They had a great range to choose from and nobody walked out of there unhappy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quickest Risotto Ever”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Made the mistake of eating here, staff are location are alright but the food is woeful. Ordered a seafood risotto and 9 minutes later was presented a rice in tomato soup, it was like the strained the spaghetti from a can and mixed in some rice 2 scallops and 2 pieces of fish, even after pouring the entire contents of the parmersan cheese it was tasteless and YUK!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I want to see this place succeed as its a great location however the present owners need to take heed of these comments. Nelson is spoilt for choice with dining out, and if a restaurant doesnt grab one the first time, customers may not come back. Service was great although maybe asking if everything is ok, less often may be an idea. I dont like having to answer with a mouthful of food. The menu looks tacky with sheets of paper clipped on and pages to turn over. We shared the breads and dips as a starter and the dips were quite tasteless. My main tasted GREAT!! A pasta dish, with a very nice salad of courgettes, lettuce and something else. As much as the gimmicky shells of salt on the tables have a novelty value, in truth it is a very unhealthy way to add salt to a meal. Think: the bowl of peanuts on the bar. All sorts of grubby fingers digging in, nose wiping fingers? Our shell of salt had a hair in it. The waitress was happy to bring a salt grinder to the table though. Not being a dog person, I didnt like the fact that there was a dog up on the seat of a table nearby, seemingly encouraged by the establishment. I prefer not to eat with dogs in the dinning room, no matter that we were sitting outside. It was still a dining room. For the food served, it was slightly over priced in my view. Unless I hear of drastic changes I wont go back. I dine out at least twice a month and have become discerning, like many other Nelsonians.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bopeep80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Styx also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Styx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing