We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveler rating
675
74
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
74
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinemattress toppermini barcomfortable bednew zealandtrafalgar parkbeautiful roomsky tvwalk into townthe kitchengreat showerthe ground floorspa bathlittle thingsabel tasmana great place to staysouth island
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 758 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2017

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at The Sails. Mark is a friendly and informative host and our one bedroom unit was spacious and luxurious. It's a 5 - 10 minute walk into town so really convenient.

It's many years since we've been in Nelson and we were impressed with the array of restaurants and activities.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fussyvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us at The Sails in Nelson. We are pleased that you found your suite to be so comfortable and that you enjoyed your time in Nelson region. Kind regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

We had such a great time at The Sails - staff were very helpful with great restaurant recommendations and things to do. Our room was extremely comfortable and very clean with a small kitchenette, heat pump and nice amenities. We will definitely be back again! Thank you for making our stay stay so comfortable

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Hello John, thank you for writing a wonderful review about your stay with us in Nelson at The Sails. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience. Kind Regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

You must stay at The Sails Nelson! The accommodations are like none other. The owners are quick to respond to email inquiries during the booking process. The establishment is small and quiet. The rooms are clean and spacious with a little kitchenette. I highly recommend staying here. My only regret is that we only booked 2 nights.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

Hi Jodi, thank you so much for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us at The Sails in Nelson. We are delighted that you found your suite to be so comfortable and you had an enjoyable time. Kind regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

Pros:
Clean rooms
Modern decor
Good location
Free parking
Good water pressure
Good compact kitchen
Daily room cleaning

Cons:
Mattress topper was a bit warm and made the bed a bit soft. There was a note on the bedside saying you could remove or request for the topper to be removed.

Other than that we will return to The Sails next time we’re in Nelson

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank TwlFaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

Thank you for writing a wonderful review about your stay with us in Nelson at The Sails. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience. Kind Regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Management very accommodating. Comfortable and clean room with extras. Hearty breakfast. Definitely stay again. The best accommodation we have ever stayed in Nelson great job mark and Cecilia keep up the fantastic work

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us at The Sails in Nelson. We are pleased that you found your suite to be so comfortable and that you enjoyed your time in Nelson region. Kind regards Mark & Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews