We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sails Nelson

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We had two nights here and loved it. The room was large, luxuriously fitted out (specifically the huge spa, the gorgeous carpet for bare feet and the bed) and very clean. We had everything we needed on hand, and many other services nearby - eg laundry which was very cheap and easy to use. The staff were all very friendly and gave great advice on nearby restaurants and attractions. The location was ideal. Would have loved to have stayed longer and hope to come back - one of our favourite places to stay in NZ.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Al and Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review about your couple of days with us here in Nelson at The Sails.
I also just love the carpet in the suites that you stayed in. We are pleased that you enjoyed the spa it is a real treat to know that you can spend as long as you like relaxing because your on Holiday. Something in normal life we fine hard to do. We are pleased that we were a highlight of your New Zealand trip. Regards max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    59
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
426
26
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed one night at The Sails Motel, Nelson in April 2014. The accommodation was spotless, and very very comfortable. Quite quiet considering the location, which is within walking distance of the main streets, as well as close to the seafront. Robyn & Max are wonderful hosts, and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCJTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Nelson at The Sails. Nelson is a wonderful city and has so much to offer its visitors. Thank you for writing your fantastic review we appreciate you taking the time. Regards Max and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night after a 4 day tramp so it was bliss having a bath with all the lovely toiletries on offer and the lovely robes.

Was really impressed with the kitchen facilities; not that we were planning to cook a meal on this particular occasion but would definitely consider staying here again if this was the case. It had lots of useful practical cooking utensils offer, ceramic hob, microwave and a dishdrawer dishwasher. We loved that there was plenty of cutlery as well just not the minimum.

Loved the different lighting on offer in the room. Motel rooms can be a bit mean in this area but not here.

Lovely bed and tasteful decor.

We were very pleased to find an umbrella in the wardrobe that was very useful to use on a wet walk home from dinner. Those little things make all the difference.

Breakfast next morning was lovely too. A very nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you very much for the fantastic review that you have written about your time with us at The Sails in Nelson after your Able Tasman experience. We are delighted that we were your piece of paradise and offered you some pampering. We look forward to your return trip to be able to see the many other wonderful sights the Nelson and Able Tasman have to offer. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Rarely does accommodation live up to its web site, this one exceeds it. The quality of the architectural finishes is superb, large bathroom with a decent shower head (you don't want to get out). The fixtures are first class with a generous size bedroom with a comfortable bed. The kitchen area is particularly well stocked, they have thought of everything. This motel sets a standard of cleanliness and features others should want to emulate. On top of all this the friendliness and the sense of humour of the owner, Robyn (we didn't meet Max) was refreshing. She even offered to do our washing and ironing while we went sightseeing for the day. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this motel to anyone visiting Nelson.
The only thing that was missing was perhaps complimentary lobster and French champagne on arrival (only kidding). I wish both Robyn and Max every success with this motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you both for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your time with us here at The Sails in Nelson. I really enjoyed your company and sharing a great laugh. We are delighted that you found the One bedroom apartment to be of such a high standard. We are very proud to live and own this motel in such a wonderful city. Thank you both for your praise and we look forward to meeting you again in the future. Regards Max and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The room was well set out, and spotless! The Koha toiletries, and a varied selection of teas/coffee was impressive. Although close to a main road, it was extremely quiet. Close enough to walk into the town or to the many parks in the area. We only stayed for two nights and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NannaK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here at The Sails in Nelson.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your suite and found it to be so quiet. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We only stayed one night at The Sails but would have loved to have stayed on longer. The welcome we received at Reception was warm, friendly and informative particularly around what to do, where to eat, walks, parks and how everything worked in our room. The bed was sumptuously comfortable, the Nespresso coffee machine was a real treat and the spaciousness of the bathroom was particularly appreciated.

We highly recommend The Sails as THE place to stay in Nelson. Thanks for making our stay so very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSouthee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us at The Sails in Nelson. We were only to happy to fill you in on some of our favourite spots and places to dine. It is really satisfying to know that you enjoyed your suite and found it to be so comfortable, as we have tried to get a real sense of luxury. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is an excellent motel. The rooms are comfortable and the owners very friendly and very helpful. As we checked in they gave us recommendations of what to do and they always turned out to be spot on.

There were great little extras like proper tea (not just bags) and the location was great. If there was a downside it was that there was no bath (would have been nice after Abel Tasman) but the showers were good.

It is very hard to fault this motel and I feel a little miserly for only giving four stars, but I reserve 5 stars for really special (this was close - hard to beat it as a motel).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you Mark for writing a review about your stay at The Sails in Nelson. We are pleased that you enjoyed the recommendations we suggested you could visit or places to dine at. We have added lots of little luxury extras to our suite which help enhance the feel of luxury. Many of our guests only get one holiday a year, so we enjoy doing our very best to help make it a memorable one. We hoe that you are able to make it back to the Nelson/Tasman area again some day and look forward to having you with us. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Property: The Sails Nelson
Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing