We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!!”
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Niederrohrdorf, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place!!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Simply a great place to stay; modern and lovely rooms as well as good situated.
Nelson itself is a charming small town. The hosts provided us with all necessary information about the town, restaurants and activities.
We've only stayed for one night but would recommend to stay longer; especially if you'd plan to visit the Abel Tasman Nationalpark.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello there, you are right, one day is not enough time to see the National Park and all that the Nelson/Tasman area has to offer. We appreciate you writing and letting other readers know about The Sails Nelson. It is with pride that we present each and every suite to guests knowing that we are providing them with the very best. Now that you have seen a little of our wonderful country, you will be able to make back again in the future. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    64
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
62
448
27
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Do not stay anywhere else in Nelson. This motel is like a 5 star luxury hotel, Max, Robyn and Kim were all so welcoming and helpful. The rooms were the best we stayed in during our month in NZ; spotlessly clean with all amenities that you could want. It provided a great refuge as Cyclone Lusi raged outside! Nelson is lovely and an easy walk away. Do visit the Free House if you like a good pub with great beer and eat at the Boatshed Cafe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We all enjoyed having you both stay with us here at The Sails in Nelson. We are pleased that you enjoyed bunkering down in your suite during the wild weather. Nothing like a bit of luxury while the clouds are crashing outside. We hope that you make it back in Summer and see the real Nelson in all it's wonderful natural beauty. Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night before hiking the Abel Tasman Track and then 2 nights afterwards. The room was really very nice - bright and large with a luxurious big bed, and a good kitchen. My husband loved the huge spa bath! Max was very helpful and stored our luggage for us while we were hiking, and had it all ready in our room when we got back. The Sails is within a 10 minute walk of the town centre and restaurants etc. I'd definitely recommend a stay here..

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello thank you for writing a review about your stay with us here in Nelson at The Sails. We are pleased that you were able to get out and explore the wonderful National Park area to break up your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your suite and a well deserved spa after your hike. We look forward to you being able to get back someday. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The room was lovely - very clean and of high quality furnishings. 2 very good nights sleep.

Max gave good recommendations on restaurants and local activities.

An easy 10-15 minute walk to the town centre restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horse2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at The Sails in Nelson. We are pleased that you enjoyed our recommendations and the suite which you stayed in. Regards max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela,HI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were scheduled to hike Able Tasman National Park for four days. We wanted a hotel in Nelson to stay before and after where we could be picked up and dropped off by the Sea Shuttle. The Sails was perfect. They knew the drill as others had done the same. We stayed the night prior to our hike and were picked up out in front of the hotel. We stored our luggage while we were on the hike and returned for two nights after. The rooms were pristine, well appointed, and walking distance to good restaurant choices. They were very helpful with dining and touring recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigIslandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We were so pleased to be part of Nelson/Tasman experience. The Able Tasman is an amazing wonderland. It was no trouble storing your bags while you were away for a few days, there is no point taking them with you, when your coming back to the Motel. We hope that you are able to get back our way and enjoy the area again in the near future. Regards Robyn and Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Kiwis traveling in their own country can be harsh. They don't like hype or being ripped off. They are quick to have whinge when it doesn't go right. We had to break the Kiwi mode after a stay in the luxurious Sails motel. Max and Robyn are down to earth, friendly (without being intrusive) and helpful. The rooms are WAY better than most 5 star hotels and have loads more facilities in them. We got an upgrade for our first night to accommodate our split stay and when we returned after three days hiking in the Abel Tasman park, our 'basic' room was hardly slumming it! Clean clean clean, new new new, shiny, comfortable, fluffy robes (who does those in motels?) and lots of other luxuries. Oh, did I mention the free bikes? When nothing was open for breakfast Max organised a tailor made continental so we could eat early. Stay there. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Righteeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a fantastic review about your stay with us here in Nelson at The Sails. We enjoyed your company and chatting during your visit to the Nelson area. We have great pleasure in showing guests to their suites and getting the feeling they are wowed by the extra treats we have provided. It is rewarding to know that the small things really made your stay with us a feel of luxury. Regards Robyn and Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights & loved everything about The Sails. We were greeted by Robyn & immediately given lots of suggestions for things to do & for our raving meal. Loved the room very luxurious with lots of lovely extras that made us feel we were in a boutique hotel.

Breakfast was superb too perfect poached eggs.

Nelson is a lovely town & we wished we had longer to enjoy the town & the luxury of The Sails

We would definitely stay here again if in Nelson

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Auntiesocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience in the wonderful Nelson area and The Sails Nelson. It was our pleasure to have you both with us and help with some of our favourite tips of places to see and where to dine. We hope that you do get back to the Nelson area again in the future to see some of the spots that you didn't have time for last trip. Regards Max and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Property: The Sails Nelson
Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing