We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Sails Motel is perfectly located, being a few minutes walk from the main shopping area and restaurants. The room was spotless and beautifully presented. The bathroom was amazing - again spotless, with fluffy bathrobes and towels, and really lovely toiletries. We didn't use the kitchen apart from making tea and coffee, as we only stayed for one night but it seemed to have everything including a minibar. And then there was the bed...by far the most comfortable bed ever! It had a mattress topper made from down (I think) which was so comfortable I have seriously never slept so well away from home. The whole stay truly felt like a luxurious treat, not a one night stay in a motel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKayfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about you night with us here at The Sails. We have to agree we love our goose down topper on our bed as well. When we decided to have them in all the suites I just had to have one. We spend a lot of time in each suite just making sure that things are well presented for each and every guest. We did decide to put mini bars into suites as sometimes guests are catching up on work maybe a touch of luxury like a little glass of bubbles while in the spa or a chocolate treat for a nibble in the afternoon, it works really well for guests.
It was lovely to meet you and hope that you get to pop back over for a well deserve back sometime soon. Regards NMax and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    62
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
60
442
26
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah
Level Contributor
338 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nelson is our third stop in our trip to New Zealand, and when I booked the Sails I only expected a decent accommodation that will satisfy our basic needs, but to my surprise, what I got is much much more. I have stayed in 5 starts hotel that I was not as happy with them as much as I am with this gem. The word motel has a certain stigma, but if all motels are like the Sails, then I shall always stay in them.

First of all the owners Max and Robyn are the best. They are very friendly and helpful, and their level of hospitality is a standard that all hoteliers should aspire to. They overwhelmed us with their kindness, and they helped arrange our day trip to Abel Tasman National Park, and they gave us tips about what to do and where to eat in Town.

The room itself is fantastic, and it reminded me of my own bedroom. I felt this way for the first time of my life, and keep in mind I stayed in a lot of hotel rooms. The room has a kitchen with everything you'd need and then some. There is a stacked mini bar as well as free coffee and tea and their kits. There is a TV with 50+ Sky channels, a safe, an Iron, and much more. The room also has a little balcony with a table and two chairs with a striking view of the surrounding mountains. The bathroom is amazing, and it has luxurious toiletries, not to mentioned the bathrobes and soft towels. For or 2 nights stay, we also got to free Wi-Fi vouchers, with 200 MB in each one. The motel has a laundry room, which we gladly utilized.

If you are anywhere near Nelson, I strongly advise you to stay at the Sails. It would feel like you never left home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayaa1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We had such a great time with you both while you were here with us at The Sails. We are only to happy to have helped you make the most of your few days in the Nelson region. The suite you were in is one of my favourites looking over the city and mountains. We have tried to cater for a varied range of guests on every type of holiday or business trip, so have tried to put as many help full amenities in and around the motel as we can think. Your review is fantastic and we thank you very much for taking the time to submit it. We certainly would really enjoy meeting you both again.
Take care of each other and all the very best. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome from Max with lots of advice on restaurants and the local area. Easy walk into the main precinct to the shops, pubs, Saturday market and high class restaurants. The apartment with opening slider to balcony was furnished to a very high spec and the beds, with those gorgeous mattress toppers, ensured a deep sleep. Free wi-fi and Sky tv. Very clean and comfortable stay was enjoyed by us at The Sails. Friendly staff and management. We shall certainly return.

Room Tip: We had a larger, corner apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambrosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your 5 days with us. We are pleased that you found our favourite spots enjoyable. The bed toppers are a real treat to sink down into and relax.
We enjoyed your company during your stay and look forward to you getting back this way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hadn't booked and decided to try somewhere new. Fantastic hosts, very clean, great quality and it was wonderful to stay in a motel that actually had some practical sense. Good quality brown face cloth's for the ladies to remove make up, instead of the standard white. Excellent sound system, huge range of TV channels and a lovely little outdoor area for a G&T. Impressive bathrooms and beautiful feather beds. I know it sounds like I am talking it up, but worth staying
I will be staying there on my next visit to Nelson

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toja69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We too, are pleased that you decided to spend a few days with us while you were over here from Blenheim. Thank you for your candid review and honest comments. We have put as much in to our rooms to create a relaxing and informed experience as we can. We appreciate the fact that you used most of what was to offer, and hope this experience will bring you back. Nelson really has so much to offer (as does Blenheim), with its walks, vineyards,shops, and cultural events. Again thank you for taking time out to review us. Kind Regards Max and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed recently for 2 nights and reception was very friendly and informative.
Rooms are spotless and nice and new. They do advice about the beds and we did take off the underlay as it was way to soft and squidgy haha but I'm sure others would love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmquintal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Thanks for the fantastic review on your stay with us at The Sails. We do have the latest comfortable beds in our suites and we did choose to top them with the feather down overlay for the added luxury. But it is important to have the choice of being able to remove them if you do enjoy a firmer bed and therefore get the benefit of the bed it self. We are pleased that you found the suite to be spotless and will pass that onto the staff. Regards Max and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sails for two nights. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. Staff were very friendly and had great advice for where to eat and things to do. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morfdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review about your stay with us here at The Sails. We are pleased that our recommendations added to your enjoyment. It is always rewarding to get a review like yours. We look forward to you getting back to stay with us again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Sails was a great place to stay. Is located in a great spot close to town. The staff/owners were very helpful and friendly when I arrived, and the rooms were excellent! Very clean, modern and comfy. Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in nelson

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyJC1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Mike we are glad that you did make it to us at The Sails Nelson the other night in all that bad weather with flights cancelled all over the place. I'm pleased that we gave you an upgraded after your rough trip. The apartment you stayed in is a great suite it has just that bit of extra room to really relax in. Thanks for the great review and your recommendation. Hope we see you back this way again some day. Try on a calm day when the suns out and the wind isn't blowing. Regards Max and Robyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Property: The Sails Nelson
Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing