We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sails Nelson
Nearby Hotels
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$96
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$156
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$87
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$94
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveler rating
655
71
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
71
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinemattress toppermini barnew zealandcomfortable bedtrafalgar parkshort walkbeautiful roomsky tvsmall balconytown centregreat showerthe ground floorspa bathlittle thingsthe kitchenabel tasman
Filter
Updating list...
625 - 630 of 735 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Cosy, welcoming, the most comfortable bed and pillows in the world. Our apartment was a haven from the wet and cold weather and an excellent jump off point for exploring Nelson. Max & Robyn are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The attention to detail in the apartment was excellent, decor, finishes & fixtures all top notch. If you stay here you will enjoy it; make sure you ask about Rhythm & Brown wine bar and go along for an evening of interesting wines, top service from the bar staff and friendly locals. Just like "Cheers" only better. Enjoy Nelson, it's a gorgeous city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about your stay with us here at The Sails Nelson. We are pleased that you found the bedding to be so comfortable we just love climbing into our own bed each night because of the toppers. We are really pleased with the feel of the suites from the natural colours and textures. Rhythm and Brown is a fantastic bar and one of our favourites. We hope that you make back to the Nelson region one day soon. Regatds Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The sails motel is a modern well kitted out motel. The finish in the rooms is superb and has all the " bells and whistles" that you would expect from a 5 star. The rooms as well as being well furnished and very modern are very warm. The little touches of class make this place such as the milk in a bottle, range of tea and local coffee The beds are extremely comfortable and i recommend a top floor room. The host Max is very friendly and very helpful. The room i was in had a oven also. Plenty of cafes within easy walking.

Room Tip: Top floor was good for me. Sunny and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Mike thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay with us at The Sails Nelson. We are pleased that you enjoyed the local selection of loose leaf teas and plunger coffee provided with the kitchen of your suite we just love brewing a tea pot of fruit tea in the morning or the smell of great coffee ourselves. A lot of planning and thought went into the design and layout of the fixtures in the suite and it has really paid off from the response from all of our guests. I'm pleased that my tips and guides work out well for you I rally enjoyed chatting with you. Thanks again and hope that you make it back down the country again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our first time to Nelson and we picked this motel online a few days before arrival. You do take a chance doing this stuff but wow, we were greeted warmly and felt very welcome. The owner Max and Robyn made us feel right at home and ensured we were ok with our room and facilities. The rooms were amazing and the decor smart and modern. If we come back to Nelson we will definitely stay at The Sails Motel.
Mark and Deb

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you Mark and Debbie for a great review about your stay with us here at The Sails. It is always our pleasure to have such nice people like yourselves who appreciate and really enjoy their holiday with us in the surroundings that we have created. We always show our guests around our suites and how things work. As a lot of our fittings are imported sometimes quit different to what you may have or not have at home. It only takes a few minutes to show guests around but it's an important part of our service.
We hope you do get to pop back over to Nelson again to explore a bit more of our beautiful region.
Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Looking for accomodation whilst attending a conference in Nelson, I came across Sails and chose it primarliy as it was within walking distance to the venue.

I did not expected much from motel, and was pleasantly surprised to find my 3 day stay was ultra comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing. After every tiring conference day, I keenly looked forward to go back to the motel and just relax.

The selection of interiors, linen, bedding and not to forget the Guatemalan coffee sachets and Japaense lime tea leaves- All a big wow!!

The owners Max & Robyn excel at hospitality and were extremely friendly and approachable. Max even offered me to drive to a corporate dinner venue when I was bit apprehensive to walk.


Highly recommend this place for a corporate or family stay and would love to visit again

Thanks Max & Robyn. You guys are doing a wonderful job.


Cheers
Ritu Gupta

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time you to write a great review on the Sails. I'm pleased to read that you couldn't wait to get back to your suite each night and you found it to be your oasis to relax. Coming from owning restaurants good plunger coffee and loose leaf tea in a real tea pot just fitted our suites design for those little extra touches we are always aiming for. We just didn't want another run of the mill motel we wanted to have the wow factory and for people like yourself to get the enjoyment and pleasure while away on business or a get away. We enjoyed your company and hope you get back to New Zealand to explore our region again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here in a one bedroom apartment for two nights in July 2013. The apartment was amazing and kitted out to a really high spec with extremely plush carpets, coffee machine, lovely furniture and well stocked kitchen area. The bed was just something else, with a dream-like mattress topper and wonderful pillows and duvet. The bathroom had a double spa bath with a monsoon shower head and sustainably sourced toiletries.

We were greeted by the owner, on arrival who was extremely friendly and helpful, without being overbearing, pointing out the best places to eat and drink.

I really enjoyed staying in Nelson. We visited the Sprig and Fern for a few drinks and had the most amazing melton mowbry pork pie and coming from the UK, I have eaten a fair few. Again the staff were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireCharlotte7993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

It was is so kind of you to take the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us here at The Sails Nelson. We are very proud of the response from guests about the extra comfort, equipment and amenities we have added to our suites. We have learnt from our past businesses that people want a little something special and to be made to feel welcomed, that's why we try to spend a few minutes to ask people what they know about the area and guide them to a few of our favorite spots. The One Bedroom Apartment you stayed in is one of my suites that you know when guests walk in they are going to be wowed, it just has such a warm elegance feel. I have passed on to the staff your comments of friendliness which gave them a real boost to be acknowledged. Thank you again for your kind review. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews