We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The word 'Motel' just does not do it Justice”
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked this so called Motel completely by chance, and I was thankful that I did.
I still find it hard to believe its a Motel! but if its a Motel its a six star Motel (Note to trip advisor add extra star to your rating please even if only for this Motel).
The Building was completed in December 2012 and its rooms are all luxurious in both furnishings, Fixings, and everything else.
What's more its reasonably priced.
The further benefits are a very nice couple Max & Robyn who own the Motel and make you feel really at home.
I stayed for business for 11 nights and I was upgraded to a Executive suite as a long term customer. The bathroom was incredible with a totally awesome Shower, All the mod cons in the kitchenette including a Nespresso Coffee Machine, Dishwasher, Toaster, Kettle, 2 burner electric hob, fridge and a wide selection of hand picked teas and a plunger coffee too.
Large flat screen TV, With Cable TV and a DVD player and sound system with iPod dock.
Breakfast Menu is also extremely good and well presented and tastes as good as it looks.
If you are going to stay in Nelson I would highly recommend The Sails Nelson, Excellent.
Actually is as good or better than the Photos look on the sails website.
Good Travels
Anthony P :)

Room Tip: All rooms are of extremely high standards, and in a quiet area of Nelson. I would be happy to stay i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thanks Anthony for writing this review on your last night with us . It was sad to see you go back home to Australia after being with us for so long. It was lovely that you said we made you feel part of our family with the staff, it's always nice to really get to know people a little, have a laugh and ask after their day. We knew that you would enjoy the larger space for your stay and pleased you got to use all the extra luxury items in the suite. The kitchens are well set up if you do need to cook a meal each night as you did. I had to laugh as the Qualmark lady did ask what star rating we were aiming to get and I did say 6 stars and nothing less. Guests taking the time to write a review about their experience with us is really appreciated, thank you again and hope that you get another install to do in the Nelson area. Bet your family were pleased to have you back home again after being away for so long.. Take care and Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 714 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

For once the reality was better than the photos. Stunning new complex well fitted out and professional management. This is the only time we have ever been shown to our room and shown where everything was and what was in the unit. Lovely owners who genuinely seemed to love what they do which we have found to be rare these days. We will be back and recommend this complex to all. In summary great location, value and spotless couldn't find one fault (and we are fussy)

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while you celebrated your husband's birthday in the city on the weekend. It's always good to share a few laughs and see guests really enjoy their time with us. We always show guests to their suites it's nice to see peoples reactions when you point out the different features in the suites. We look forward to your next celebration or just when you get the chance to have some time away to wander the great shops in the city. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here as a family in Jan 2013 and loved it so much that when I had to choose a place to stay for my 5 day business trip The Sails was top of the list. No second time around disappointment here. I stayed in a studio and although a cheaper room than what we stayed in last time, the standard was to the high same quality. The hosts Max & Robyn could not do enough for you from the moment you walked in the door, they even asked after my family which is wonderful to think as we had not been back for 6 months. The rooms are so clean large and luxurious. I cannot wait for our next family holiday to Nelson as it's the ONLY place I will stay as it's like coming home. Thank you Max and Robyn, we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Room Tip: all rooms are of the same high standard, but for that little extra you can upgrade and it is so wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

It's always great to have guests return again after their first stay with us at The Sails Nelson. We have always ran our previous businesses on the bases of your last day in business should be the same as your first day. We make our businesses personal, customer orientated and friendly. We do cater for a variety of travelers and the different styles of suites offer a great selection. We are pleased that you found the different suites to be of equal quality as all the suites have different luxury items depending on the style and size but the products and furnishings we have sourced had to fit our 5 star feel. We are looking forward to your next trip to Nelson and hope to see you with your family again. Thanks you for taking time out to write a great review again. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hands down, the best apartment I have ever stayed in!! I loved every second of being at The Sails. Every little detail had been thought about and lifes little luxuries were catered for as well. The nespresso machine, the luscious carpets, the most comfortable bed, the privacy, the location, the anti fogging mirror, the spa bath... the whole lot!!

The only bad thing I have to say is that I had to leave and go on to stay in other accom across the South Island that was nowhere near as luxurious!

Thanks for having us and we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t-ravellingwaihetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for the great review on your stay with us at The Sails Nelson. Over the 5 days you were with us we enjoyed hearing about your daily trips exploring the Nelson region. There is a lot to see here in Nelson so it's always great to have guests who have allowed time to take it all in. We're glad you made use of the bikes, it's a different way of seeing the water front and streets of the city. The nespresso machines are a added luxury in the units and people really enjoy making a real coffee with them. The spa bathroom in the suit you stayed in is the perfect end to a busy day perhaps with a bubbles in hand to sip while listening to some music from the stereo.
We both really enjoyed meeting you and hope that another trip to Nelson is not to far away for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with spa bath. Everything in the apartment was modern, clean and of high quality. It had excellent amenities, especially the in-room expresso machine which was used daily and topped up every day by house keeping. Bathroom was huge, king size bed luxurious and the room was serviced daily.

The service was exceptional, the owners could not do enough for you, they were very friendly and helpful and we made good use of the free bikes. This place is a 5 minute walk from the city and we highly recommend it to anyone staying in Nelson.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montreau164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of The Sails Nelson. We are always pleased when guests have aloud themselves time to explore the Nelson area in depth. The spa suite you stayed in is one of my favorites it has such a homely feel to the layout. The space works well for longer stays. The carpet is so lush, we had a family stay in there and they told us their daughter was making carpet angels in the lounge all night. The nespresso machines were a idea we got from on our trip around Europe and knew they would add to the luxury experience we were after. Getting around on the bikes is a fun and different way of seeing the city and beach front especially on one of our lovely sunny day. It was lovely to have you stay with us and hope that you are able to make it back this way again soon. Thank you again for your fantastic review. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Everything about our stay here was perfect! The room was luxurious, the bathroom was nice and clean with everything we needed, including a huge double spa bath and large shower head with lots of pressure. The bed was huge, probably the most comfortable bed we have ever had at a motel. The service from the owners was also fantastic, with great advice of where to go for dinner. They even offered us a ride if we needed it.
The coffee machine in the room was a great feature. We had our own heat pump in the room too.
It was a great place to stay and we will definitely be back. All the details were taken care of for a super relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonandhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your night with us last Sunday. The one bedroom suite you stayed in with the spa is one of my personal favorite suites. It has a real warm cosy feel. People have written in other comments how they just loved to lay in the carpet and watch movies after a spa in one of the robes because it is so lush and inviting. The nespresso machines were a idea we got from trips around Europe as well as the Rain Shower Heads in the bathroom. Dropping guests off to our favorite restaurants or to concerts is just part of the service we offer, it's no problem. Maybe next time you'll take us up on the offer which could be a family get away after your next exciting baby is born. We could arrange for our baby sitter to look after the children for you and you both could have a few hours on the town. All the best for the next few months and Thanks for the great review of your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you both.
Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beautiful rooms with a luxurious feel, all the extra touches make for a wonderful experience and that's why I keep coming back! The Sails Motel, you really are a cut above the rest. Be sure to have breakfast, it is delicious, the pancakes are amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review about your time spent with us during you trips around the area. It's a great feeling to have repeat guests who get the enjoyment form our extra treats that we put into each suite many of which you don't normally get. It's a pleasure to get to know people and to do the extra things that personalize a stay with us by knowing what our guests enjoy about our suites. Thanks for the recommendation of the pancakes which you order religiously, I've been serving them like they are going out of fashion. We look forward to seeing your overseas holiday pictures which you have coming up in the next week. See you again soon. Regards Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $125 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing