We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a motel”
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This motel is something special. Max and Robyn are very welcoming and friendly. The motel is about a 10 minute easy stroll to the pretty town centre. The room was spacious, very clean and modern, a sleek kitchen (I would love in my home) super comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom. Free wifi was a bonus. There was even a small private outside area with table and chairs, they have thought of everything to make your stay outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazzaF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at The Sails. We really love living here in Nelson and strolling in and out of the city streets as you mentioned and we do it almost every day. We are proud of the The Sails and the Nelson region with what we have to offer guest's and visitors weather it's just one day or a few. We like to offer each guest a total experience of getting away and being on holiday, which for a lot of people only comes once a year. Sometimes you just need to take a day for r and r and sitting on the deck and having everything in your suite makes for that day or night when you just want to stay put and not leave or drive anywhere. The beds are a treat to snuggle in, they are a point of difference that you don't normally have at home to remind you you are on holiday. It was so nice to chat and get to hear about your days outing. Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review on you stay with us. We look forward to meeting you both again soon. Max and Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 688 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Even though the hotel is located on one of the main streets leading into town, we never noticed any road noise. The lady who checked us in, Robyn, was extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. She showed us into our room and we were really impressed by the modern, luxurious decor. We were even given instruction on how to use the coffee maker. Within minutes of our arrival Robyn had made reservations for us at the Boat Shed Restaurant, which we loved. There was a large spa in the bathroom and we were supplied with the best basket of toiletries we've ever encountered, as well as comfy robes. Heaven. The bed practically swallowed us up. It was such a comfortable place to spend a night and I would definitely recommend it. We met Max on our way out early the next morning and he was just as friendly. They should be very proud of the high level of accommodation that they offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs for a view over Nelson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We both really enjoyed meeting you and helping out with some tips. The Boat Shed is one of our favorite restaurants to have a wonderful night out that's why we send guests, along with some of the other restaurants which are in the city within walking distance from here. It's great to know that after a evening out you enjoyed the spa and the lovely robes to snuggle in.
That's what we like to hear, that people just relaxed and unwind in what we have to provide in each of our suites. We look forward to seeing you both our way next trip over the to NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This establishment succeeds on every level !

'Motel' is the wrong word - once inside our 1 bed apartment it could so easily be mistaken for a top tier Hilton, JW Marriot or even a Ritz Carlton. Seriously, we've stayed in all of them and the Sails compares favourably with the lot. As an architect, I thought the whole design was excellent and the interiors well thought out and of superb quality. The owners have really thought long and hard about everything and it is near as dam perfect (a magnifying mirror for shaving/makeup in the otherwise superb bathroom was all that was missing !).

The friendliness of the owners is the icing on this superb cake !

Complimentary continental breakfast was a nice gesture and just right. Marshmallow soft bed, lovely linens, superb mood lighting, great in-room entertainment and a well equipped, sleek galley kitchen - really a home from home !

We were a level 10 minutes walk to Nelson town centre on the top end of the very busy Trafalgar Street (some traffic noise but bearable), probably the most pleasant town we came across on our three week road trip and would recommend the World of Wearable Art exhibition and attached classic car museum (strange combination but great fun and interesting). We also stumbled across the jeweler who made the ring for 'that film'. His shop and workshop is in Nelson.

100% recommendation !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

We both really enjoyed having you both stay with us earlier this month for several days and although ONE of you was a wee bit upset about the weather being wet, now it seams that you were in the perfect suite to enjoy yourselves in your surrounding when it did rain. I do remember a few shopping bags being taken up to you apartment, nothing better than a bit of retail therapy in the Nelsons city center.
It was great to see you coming and going, popping in the office for a chat about what you had been up to and had seen or where you ate dinner.

Nelson is a fabulous area and we are glad that we have made the move to live here and open the motel last December. It's guests like yourselves why we enjoy what we are doing and that
you had such wonderful things to say while you were staying here about the motel and what we had to offer and now for you to write such a fantastic review is a real boost. Thank you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice and new and modern motel. Rooms were spotless. Nice big TV, lots of sky channels, close to town. Internet price a little steep. Quiet location, no street noise, would stay again for sure. Nice big bed with nice soft pillows

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

We are really pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us at The Sails. Big T.V's and 50+ Sky was right up there on the list for me, with the variety of guests we get staying with us you need it to cover the interest's of everyone. Now more than ever with the weather changing. We are proud of the presentation and comfort of the suites. We are looking forward to your next visit with us again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review The Sails Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

These guys are true to their word. Everything was top notch, sparkly clean and super comfy. You pay for what you get here, but there are no hitches. We arrived early and they went out of their way to get our room ready for an early check in. We had a friendly and informative tour of our wee suite and all the gadgets, and then we relaxed all afternoon taking advantage of the facilities in our room, including the coffee machine, the spa bath (which is huge and powerful!) the music system, cooking facilities, soft squishy carpet and sunny balcony. We attended a music festival across the road in trafalgar park, so we literally walked 10 steps to our concert! After a great but exhausting night, we were delighted with the comfy bed, good quiet night's sleep and freshly prepared breakfast. They also stored our bikes while we looked around Nelson. Definitely recommend for people looking for somewhere a bit special.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to the suite with the spa bath - totally worth the wee bit extra, especially if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thanks for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip to Nelson and got to the concert across the road in Trafalgar Park. The spa is a real luxury when your after something special and getting into a comfoty bed is just the way to unwind at the end of the day. It's good to see that you made good use of everything in the suite to cook with, listen to, watch, soak in and sit out in sun using your table and chairs. It was great to meet you both and be part of your Nelson trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Sails in early April in one of the studio rooms. It was small but not at all cramped and it helped that the room opened out onto a small courtyard (albeit right on the main road). The owners are clearly striving to make this a very comfortable experience for travelers. While our room did not have an espresso machine it did have a plunger with excellent coffee (specially blended I believe). The selection of teas was also outstanding. We're talking real tea here, not tea bags! As other have said, the bedding is so comfortable - first really good night's sleep of my holiday. Widest selection of Sky channels we encountered anywhere in NZ. The owners also recommended and booked a restaurant for us. Best crayfish I've ever eaten (Boat Shed). Genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herm0ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hospitality is all that we know, coming from owning many restaurants we know that you are only as good as the last moment when your guest leaves paying the bill feeling satisfied with what they have experienced. Which is why we do the good tea's and great coffee put the toppers on the bed with the best linen and a big TV with lots of channels we try to get it right each and every time. Weekends or holidays away are treats, special occasions or maybe a sad one for a family member, everyone deserves great service or the time to offer help with a recommendation. It's not hard when we have guests who enjoy and appreciate the effort we put in.
It was great to have you with us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent stay at the Sails in nelson! We were blown away by the service and facilities this motel offers. Amazing owners who are so helpful, and we loved the espresso machine in the rooms and the comfy beds. Will be going nowhere else to stay in Nelson now, Sails it always will be!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

We are pleased that you are thinking of your next visit with us at The Sails.We are proud of the service and comfort we offer and the motel itself. We always enjoy helping people get the best of the area and what Nelson has to offer to the many different visitors who come for many reasons. It was lovely to meet you and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Sails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
392 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $123 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing