We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Attitude/Stay :(” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sails Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sails Nelson
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing Attitude/Stay :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at this Motel for the first time and unfortunately will never be returning.
I had high expections as it is brand new with a 5 star rating, as I have been a business traveller in the area for over 20yrs I always look forward to staying in new accomodation.
The attitude of the owers was very disappointing and found some of thier comments quite insulting when they obviously thought they were been funny and even found one question quite challenging......
Yes, the room was very nice, as it should be due to the motel just openning recently.
It was lovely to see a fully stocked mini bar until......I saw the prices! Message to owners, there is a supermarket just over a block away!
The bed...I'm a tall person and the bed was so high that I almost had to jump up to get into it, they had one of those fabulous "toppers" on the bed which with a 30 degree day then very hot night left me totally sweating hot all night (should be on bed winter only) also there were sooooooo many pillows and cushions displayed on the bed, you could hardly see the bed! Counted x9 in totally which just all ended up on the floor so I could get into/fit in the bed myself.
Lastly I also found it very annoying that through the night there was a hum/ring of some sort coming from the bathroom that kept waking me up....
So all in all, not impressed and would not ever stay again

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank 20yrRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are shocked that you rated us so low, as we take great pride in our motel, and guest satisfaction.Please accept our apology , and we would like to refund your stay or another nights accommodation, so please contact us to arrange this, as our guest must be happy with their experience .You had brought up several concerns that i would like to address. We would like to apologize for the small talk, that offended you while you were booking in. We do like to strike up conversation with our guests, so that we can get a feel of their needs and expectations. Somewhere through-out that process we must of over stepped our boundary.
As to the mini-bar, you are right to suggest that a super market would be a cheaper alternative, but that is not our targeted market. We price our products to compete with the bars and restaurants, which we are very competitively priced. As for the nine pillows, being that it is a queen /king bed, four are for your head, two are for leg posture, leaving only three for decoration. Our feather down toppers are very comforting, and because the average Night time temperature is 14 C at night in February in Nelson, they are a perfect accessory to our rooms. They can be removed in minutes if requested. You had mentioned a Hum/ring coming from the bathroom, and that would of been the fan/extractor motor, having been left on. Again, we feel that we could of addressed any of these concerns on the day, and made your stay a more enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    59
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
425
26
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and were thoroughly refreshed after our stay at the Sails. Every detail of the studio suite we stayed was of high quality. Lovely, clean and very peaceful night sleeps. Handy to the centre of Nelson, we also had some fun cycling around on the use of their pushbikes. Max and Robyn were very helpful and friendly. On our last day we ordered Eggs Benedict from the Sails menu and it was delicious. We were pleased by the standard of excellence in every area. What a jewel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Glad that we could be part of your holiday experience. It is always great to see guest using and experiencing the options we offer. It is a great city to get around on bikes , as it is mainly flat, and fantastic cycling tracks. Four days in Nelson, is the perfect amount of time, to see and do all of the offerings of the area.Thank you very much for taking the timeout to write a review, and hope to see you back in nelson Soon. Kind Regards Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Sails Motel for 3 nights in February. The accomodation is extremely well appointed and beautifully maintained - altogether a very high standard. It is close to the centre of Nelson about half a mile out. It is an easy drive to restaurants or a longish walk if you feel like it. Lots of help from Max and Robyn on where to eat/go etc and free wifi. A very good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you Clive for making a review on our Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope the rest of the holiday was as memorable.We are always happy to be apart of people's holiday experience, and hope, that if, returning to New Zealand, we will get you back.Thanks again for taking your time out to write a review. Kind Regards Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently returned to our home of Nelson,for a holiday, as we now live in Australia. Wanting just a couple of nights to ourselves we booked into this beautiful new motel. We had a one bedroom suite, with spa which we appeared to get as a complimentary upgrade from standard bathroom which was very nice. It's pretty pricey but certainly up there with other 5 star hotels we've stayed at all over the world.

As others have noted, the carpet was beautiful to walk on..very soft indeed and probably the nicest I've seen in a hotel/motel and the bed incredibly luxurious and comfortable. A real plus was the Nespresso machine..a really great touch I've not seen in any hotel yet..REAL coffee..divine! Great point of difference guys! We also thought the layout was very unique..not the 'usual' motel/hotel room layout..there had obviously been a lot of thought go into the design. Spotlessly clean, unobtrusive service, oh and free copy of local magazine!! (which did feature a photo article of the opening of the motel ;))

Only criticisms, if you could call it that, were these.. the door, which is a firestop door, is incredibly heavy to use and hard to manage with luggage in hand. And the quirky beachy artwork in the lounge and bedroom just really did not go with the contemporary, luxurious fitout. I suspect they were local or personally known artists and perhaps the owners are showcasing the work, or simpy attempting to make the rooms more personal and unique. Attractive in their own right, but not the right fit. Visitors to our room brought this up actually..we agreed.But this is hardly a criticism on the place..just an opinion really.

So all in all a wonderful motel, so close to the city - walk to shops, cafes, nightlife, sports (Trafalgar park directly across the road!)...great location, friendly service, luxurious experience!

We will be back, and will certainlly recommend :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeeloverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for the great review, and observation on the seashell/basket art. We are glad to of had you stay at our complex and enjoy the one bedroom apartment. We had an artist do all of the pictures for our Motel, and you bring up some valid points.Art is in the eye of the beholder. It did take us a while to get used to them. We hope that we will see you back in Nelson soon, to enjoy the fantastic weather we offer.Kind regards Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay here. Everything about The Sails is excellent, top quality furniture and fittings, great beds,and a spacious luxurious bathroom. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, as we wanted the option to be able to cook our own meals as we were there for a few days. Everything you need was there, with a good range of knives, utensils, pots and pans etc. Nice touch with the coffee maker as well, my husband was very pleased! Everything was immaculate and clean and fresh, and Max and Robyn were always helpful and friendly (even when Max had a broken foot)
We will be recommending The Sails to all our friends, and next time we are in Nelson we know where we will be booking!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay in sunny Nelson. It is always great to see guests really explore our great little city, by staying several days, to see all of the attractions.. The one bedroom apartments are fantastic, to spread out in , and relax. Thank you for taking the time out to review us, and score us so high, and hope to see you back for some more sun. Hope the" back" gets better. Kind Regards Max and Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

we received the most warm welcome from Max, who was really helpful & giving many tips on where to go & the best places to eat. The room was very clean & beautifully dressed. Any snacks & drinks you can think off are available! 55 tv channels to choose from & free wifi for 2 devises. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for the review, and the kind words. We do try and think of everything that would make a stay here, enjoyable and relaxing, even down to bath salts for spa baths. We realize that guests want those extra's to make the difference. Hope the weather is not too cold back home. Kind Regards Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We satyed for two nights , beautiful room and most comfortable bed ! even our little boy has said that his pullout bed was very nice too. It is Absolutley Luxury Accommodation. Max & Robyn are perfect hosts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max r, Owner at The Sails Nelson, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your quick stay with us, and hope next time your visit this great little place- called Nelson, you can stay longer. Hope Tauranga gets as much sun as we do!! Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#13 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sails Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sails Nelson

Property: The Sails Nelson
Address: 7 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sails Nelson 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson's newest luxury motel is unparalleled in quality and price. Qual mark rated 5 stars. The Sails provides 3 different size suites: 4 Elegant One Bedroom Apartments, 4 Sumptuous Executive Suites, 6 Luxury Studios and 2 Luxury ground floor Access Enabled Suites, Individual Car Parks. Our suites enjoy floor to ceiling windows opening onto your own intimate balcony or courtyard, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens, 42in LCD Televisions, Mini Bar, and Guest Laundry. Complimentary 50+ Sky, Wi Fi, Blue Ray, Ipod Docking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Sails Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing