We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I really only want a clean, tidy and safe room and I'm on a budget. After my regular accommodation was fully booked I booked via booking.com on the reviews and price. Well, what a wonderful welcome and then a tour. Very clean and tidy room with an ensuite. Obviously a bar that the locals visit. Upmarket bar, great 'deals', good security (card entry into the room) and excellent location. Free wifi. The only complaint - my room was by the outside stairs and overlooking the beer garden - thus smoke rose into my room, the outside door was against the beds wall and it was noisy until late at night. I will certainly book again but will ask for a room near the road instead. Very impressed and lots of happy people showed just how great this place is.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponymadaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    29
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
40
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Everyone who worked there was friendly and kind. They went out of their way to be social and inclusive and this atmosphere rubbed off on the guests as well. Loved the discounted drinks and meals at the pub. Also appreciated that it's a proper pub that locals enjoy too, not a party hostel bar.
Accommodations were comfortable and clean. The hammocks and game room were added bonuses!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank tiffymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were very pleased with our comfortable room with private bathroom.
There were no cooking facilities but breakfast was included in the price. The evening meal was outstanding - main course and pudding plus a jug of beer for $10 each!
The breakfast was equally good with a selection of cereals, toast and a waffle maker which produced delicious hot waffles in a couple of minutes. Butter and maple syrup were also supplied - altogether a very happy experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Prince Alberts backpackers. All staff were extremely welcoming and helpful with lots of suggestions for things to do in the local and wider areas. As the hostel was linked to a bar there were discounted drinks and meals which looked delicious and were good value - we had eaten out and were pretty disappointed when we got back and saw other people eating!

It was a short walk to town (around 10 mins) which was fine.

The rooms were clean and had their own shower room/toilet. There was a nice outdoor area to sit and have dinner and there was also a comfortable DVD room.

The free breakfast available was really nice with cereal, toast, tea, coffee, juice and facilities to make your own waffles!

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanQ214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I booked a private double room, ensuite, based on the reviews here. I loved the place! They offer free pick up service from the bus station, which was really handy, as the hostel is a 15-minute walk from town, which is totally fine for seeing Nelson but annoying if you have luggage to carry.
I love the fact that there is a bar in the hostel, offering great food at very good prices. The staff is lovely and very helpful. My room was simple but of a great size, the same with the ensuite bathroom. It was very clean.
Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Prince Albert ticks all the boxes. The staff are wonderful and friendly, the room was spacious and clean, the shower was excellent and the free breakfast topped everything off perfectly. It's also great that they offer free wifi and computers and a discount card for a few places around town. Excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to return! (and I loved the little four-legged receptionist who greeted me on arrival)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PersonWorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Booked a single room in what was described as a backpackers. The room was small and basic, but comfortable, well insulated, and met/exceeded expectations. The en-suite was excellent and modern.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The bar downstairs served good drinks with a good atmosphere (discount for guests). Room price $50 included breakfast (not taken - left too early) and free wifi (horrendously slow in the evenings).

But overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Albert Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Albert Backpackers

Property: The Prince Albert Backpackers
Address: 113 Nile Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Prince Albert Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince Albert Backpackers & Bar is centrally located in Nelson City. Our Heritage class building is located only minutes away from everything Nelson has to offer including mountain biking, hiking, natural swimming pools, arts and crafts and the famous Saturday Markets. The Prince Albert Backpackers and hostel provides today's travellers with the very best in modern facilities and accommodation including free unlimited WiFi and a free daily breakfast, while the locals bar and restaurant allows friendly interaction between the Nelsonites and the backpacker traveller.We have a range of rooms from 6 bed dorms, 4 bed share rooms, twins, and doubles. All of our rooms have en-suite facilities along with laundered and pressed linens and duvets. The backpackers uses a secure electronic keycard access system. Our guests also enjoy the exclusive use of a private sunny courtyard, private lounge, private kitchen and laundry facilities.Other facilities that you will find here at The Prince Albert Backpackers include a games room with Fussball, Darts, Ping Pong & Air Hockey, cruiser style bikes free of charge to explore Nelson and for the more adventurous individual we have quality mountain bikes for hire at the cheapest rate in town. With our free luggage storage you can also make The Prince Albert Backpackers your base-camp hostel to explore the 3 national parks within 1 1/2 hours from Nelson including the beautiful Abel Tasman and the alpine National Lakes.Factor in the discounts you will receive around town with our branded Prince Albert Backpackers wristband and we truly believe that once you have stayed with us you will seriously consider staying just that little bit longer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Prince Albert Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing