We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky setting!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wholemeal Cafe

Wholemeal Cafe
Ranked #12 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Nelson
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
443 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Quirky setting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We liked this cafe and ice creamery set in what was a cinema in days gone by. The colours are vibrant and crazy with a brazen theatrical touch and old movie posters and blowups of stars gone to heaven or hell add to the mix along with a grand piano on the mezzanine. There is a slight sense of faded glory but it adds to the charm. We also liked the food and generally good service. Well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I bought both of your cookbooks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

One word for this cafe!
DELICIOUS
We visit each year often on our annual holiday. It becomes our fav local.
The food is always perfect.
The salads are to die for.
The atmosphere and art and colour are amazing.

Coffee is always perfect and we are fussy!

Helpful?
Thank JohnandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Fresh food and they had really everything one could want. If you walk away hungry that's your fault.
Great coffee, and pinwheels and the chicken pie was excellent so my friend tells me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Siver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We enjoyed the eclectic atmosphere in this little cafe. We decided to split the Farmers breakfast and so glad we did the split! Huge portion of bacon eggs sausages toast mushrooms and tomatoes with fried potato. It was so good (big too!) and kept us going for the day of hiking ahead. The coffee was delicious and happy that they could do my favorite, a soy latte! It is definitely a popular little place in Takaka and the line for ordering was a bit long but well worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Delicious food, with plenty of options. Went here 10 years ago when family lived in the area and have just returned again for a visit. Hasn't changed too much but that isn't a bad thing. Yummy Gluten free options too and they do a wide range of coffees and delicious smoothies.
A friendly relaxed atmosphere and we had lovely customer service each time we visited this week :) Thanks Wholemeal Cafe!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eganh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wholemeal Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Wholemeal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing