We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Special in Nelson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Ranked #3 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Our family loved this place. We stayed in the Wheelhouse for 2 nights. Three levels of unique accomodation with a great nautical theme. It was a pleasant alternative from more conventional motels/hotels. Wonderful views from the huge windows. (binoculars supplied!)
Great place in our favorite NZ town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calmer_days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 172 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

Thanks so much Ralph, Sally, Kim and Floyd for having us, we had such a wonderful stay, the accommodation in the Captain's Quarters was just fantastic! The seagull made it safely home and is already perched at the top of the fence, welcoming us home and to remind us, that New Zealand has some of the best places along with the best hosts in the world. Sally, I thought the fresh flowers were such a lovely touch. Thanks again, and hope to visit again. Regards, Yoie and Lorenzo

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoie_borrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This place was perfect for us after 2 days of kayaking and a day of hiking in the Abel Tasman National Park. The Crows Nest had it all for us. Living room with tv/dvd, WASHING MACHINE AND DRYER, kitchen, and priceless views. It really did feel like home (but with better views)! I had a fantastic time taking pictures of the sunsets from the front porch/balcony. They had free internet, but WIFI was not available. They only had an ethernet cord that you could plug into your computer. We only had our IPhones. All in all, wish we could have stayed longer. I highly recommend staying at The Wheelhouse Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggiemary04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Stayed in the Wheelhouse, which was fine for a couple but could also house a few more. The view is absolutely incredible. Ralph and Sally were very helpful, and it seemed like they had really tried to think of everything you could need during your stay. It's an easy drive from here to Abel Tasman Nat'l Park or out to Marlborough. I hope to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10162010travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Great place to stay, we want to go again. It was close to the city center and the airport. The owners were gracious and fun to talk to. The Crow's Nest was well thought out, clean, and the views were unbelievable. We would highly recommend this place, but we don't want too many to go there since we want to be able to get reservations again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Likesthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

On our arrival we found very spatious, elegantly furnished and well equipped flats. The view from the crows nest through the large panoramic windows over the bay is breathtaking. Walking to town takes quite a while so you are much better off driving by car. A truly luxurious and very peaceful Place to stay.
We almost regretted having to leave for Abel Tasman ...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank housi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Crow's Nest for two nights in December. The place was even better than the pictures on the website. It was nice and quiet with stunning views of the water. We made all of our meals in the great little kitchen and ate out on the deck. The main bedroom sits on the second floor with huge windows looking out over the water. The Crow's Nest was one of the highlights of our 2 1/2 week stay in New Zealand. The owners came down to say hello on our last day. They were very friendly and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We wish we had booked a few more days at the Crow's Nest.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjraye35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
688 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.5 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Address: 41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular sea views, private, quiet bush setting. All day sun. Only minutes to Nelson city and the beach. Fully self-contained, fantastic outdoor area or deck with outdoor furniture and bbq. Spacious lounge/dining areas with TV,DVD,CD,stereo,FREE WIFI, washing machine and dryer and off-street parking. Within 1 1/2 hours to Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing