We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Ranked #8 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not nice”
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Dated furnishings, with a horrible bathroom (stainless steel shower that you have to duck to get under). Needs new bedding (a bit stuck in the 80's). Needs new carpet. Sofa uncomfortable. Great views. Naff pillows. Liked the quirky sailor touches. Nobody meets you or says goobye. Cobwebs. Generally dirty (Carpet, mould around sink). Several lights did not work. Old fanshioned. Please note that the score is in comparison to 14 other hotels/B&Bs we stayed in during a 3 week trip to NZ (this is the only one we have not scored a 4 or a 5 star)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisab80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim041, Manager at The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters, responded to this review, December 6, 2009
We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that our decor wasn't to your liking. We have taken your comments on board regarding the cleanliness and carpet and have moved quickly to correct these issues. New carpet is going down this week and as a team we have reviewed our cleaning procedures. Sorry the owners missed you with greetings. They make every effort to meet all the guests, but might miss the guests if they are out. We like to offer the independent traveller a bit of privacy. We are always contactable by phone from within the accommodations and would have appreciated your comments earlier so that we could have made your stay more enjoyable. We pride ourselves on offering a fabulous place to stay in a fantastic location and will continue to strive to exceed visitor expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Wow! What a spot. Beautiful views, this is a great little house with plenty of amenities. Friendly staff, and an excellent value. You'll need a car to get to town, but if you have rented a car, this place is a great value. You'll be impressed!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flexabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

as we were visiting my dad for the first time i was looking for something not far from him, i found the wheelhouse inn on the internet, we stayed 8 nights in the captain qtrs and then 8 nights in the crows nest, both of them were absolutely brilliant, the views over the bay were breath taking we were all blown away by them even my 2 teenage boys, the hosts were wonderful, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal_alib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We (2 couples) stayed at Crows Nest for 2 nights. (my husband & I had stayed at Chart House main deck a year earlier and had been blown away by how fabulous the accommodation was. We wanted to share our experience with our friends). Our stay was unsurpassable - another set of friends who had been forced to book elsewhere were green with envy! There is simply nowhere else we would choose to stay in Nelson. You really do need to have a car if you visit Nelson - this accommodation would be less suitable without one.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
167 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

we booked this at the last minute, having got it out of our Rough Guide. If you want to go book in advance as it shouldn't be missed. We hadn't looked at the website prior to booking so were not 100% sure what we were getting but it was amazing. we had the Wheelhouse, 2 bedrooms a full kitchen and the most amazing view. As for the price it is the bargain of the century.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsba20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2009

A lovely place and I would highly recommend to everyone. Great accommodation which could not be better with the most amazing views.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monty105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed in the Chart House - Main Deck for 3 nights in May and didn't want to leave. Its a little place of heaven. Just wonderful views and spectacular sunsets if your lucky with the weather. The apartment (Main Deck) is the bottom of a 2 storey house which has been converted in two apartments. I think we had the best with a lovely decking directly outside our door. Inside has a wonderful kitchen, stove, cook top, microwave etc. You need not go out for meals. The lounge area is divided into two areas, tv area and a reading area, both with fantastic views of the ocean. The bedroom is very roomy and the bathroom large with a huge shower. We enjoyed this accommodation so much, we are planning on returning next year. It was the highlight of our 10 day visit to NZ. Thank you Ralph and Sally for your hospitality and for having such beautiful accommodation. We highly recommend the Wheel House Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.3 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Property: The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Address: 41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular sea views, private, quiet bush setting. All day sun. Only minutes to Nelson city and the beach. Fully self-contained, fantastic outdoor area or deck with outdoor furniture and bbq. Spacious lounge/dining areas with TV,DVD,CD,stereo,FREE WIFI, washing machine and dryer and off-street parking. Within 1 1/2 hours to Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing