We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I go back now please?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
Ranked #3 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Wow! What a spot. Beautiful views, this is a great little house with plenty of amenities. Friendly staff, and an excellent value. You'll need a car to get to town, but if you have rented a car, this place is a great value. You'll be impressed!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

as we were visiting my dad for the first time i was looking for something not far from him, i found the wheelhouse inn on the internet, we stayed 8 nights in the captain qtrs and then 8 nights in the crows nest, both of them were absolutely brilliant, the views over the bay were breath taking we were all blown away by them even my 2 teenage boys, the hosts were wonderful, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal_alib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We (2 couples) stayed at Crows Nest for 2 nights. (my husband & I had stayed at Chart House main deck a year earlier and had been blown away by how fabulous the accommodation was. We wanted to share our experience with our friends). Our stay was unsurpassable - another set of friends who had been forced to book elsewhere were green with envy! There is simply nowhere else we would choose to stay in Nelson. You really do need to have a car if you visit Nelson - this accommodation would be less suitable without one.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

we booked this at the last minute, having got it out of our Rough Guide. If you want to go book in advance as it shouldn't be missed. We hadn't looked at the website prior to booking so were not 100% sure what we were getting but it was amazing. we had the Wheelhouse, 2 bedrooms a full kitchen and the most amazing view. As for the price it is the bargain of the century.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsba20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

A lovely place and I would highly recommend to everyone. Great accommodation which could not be better with the most amazing views.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monty105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed in the Chart House - Main Deck for 3 nights in May and didn't want to leave. Its a little place of heaven. Just wonderful views and spectacular sunsets if your lucky with the weather. The apartment (Main Deck) is the bottom of a 2 storey house which has been converted in two apartments. I think we had the best with a lovely decking directly outside our door. Inside has a wonderful kitchen, stove, cook top, microwave etc. You need not go out for meals. The lounge area is divided into two areas, tv area and a reading area, both with fantastic views of the ocean. The bedroom is very roomy and the bathroom large with a huge shower. We enjoyed this accommodation so much, we are planning on returning next year. It was the highlight of our 10 day visit to NZ. Thank you Ralph and Sally for your hospitality and for having such beautiful accommodation. We highly recommend the Wheel House Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We spent a very happy few days at Charthouse Upper Deck in March this year. The accommodation is very spacious and has fantastic views over the bay and harbour - we actually saw a pod of Killer Whales feeding from the louge window.

The accommodation is situated about 1km from the centre of Nelson so is handy for shops etc but not very walkable as it is on a large steep hill.

Overall our impression of the Upper Deck was very good and we felt represented very good value for money, the only drawback we would highlight is the lack of sound proofing with the apartment below.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Febbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
717 reviews
1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.3 mi away
Wakefield Quay House
Wakefield Quay House
#7 of 55 in Nelson
222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters

Address: 41 Whitby Road, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $109 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular sea views, private, quiet bush setting. All day sun. Only minutes to Nelson city and the beach. Fully self-contained, fantastic outdoor area or deck with outdoor furniture and bbq. Spacious lounge/dining areas with TV,DVD,CD,stereo,FREE WIFI, washing machine and dryer and off-street parking. Within 1 1/2 hours to Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing