We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trampers Rest
Nearby Hotels
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$156
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$96
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$121
$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warwick House(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$84
$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$87
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joya Garden & Villa Studios(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$99
$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
17
1
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
1
2
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 21 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Home from home. We had mostly stayed in camp sites so this was the perfect cosy retreat. The owners made us feel so welcome and introduced everyone straight away so it was the perfect place to exchange advise on where to travel in NZ. Loved the room we stayed in- big brass bed looking out onto an avocado tree. So comfortable. Complementary cake too! The owners went out of their way to give us advise on how we should travel around the South Island and it was absolutely invaluable as it shaped the rest of our trip. Loved my time there and they even waved us off.

Room Tip: The private double with the big brass bed. Best sleep I'd had in ages.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhiannon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for five nights, from the 20th to the 24th February 2012. It was an excellent place to stay. It's very clean, homely and a great place to meet up with other travelers. The owners, Allan and Piri, were extremely helpful and gave us lots of tips and advice with our travel itinerary and very willingly answered any questions we had. It felt like home. The kitchen and living room are open and welcome places in the house for everyone to congregate and chat. I had a single room and the bed was really comfortable and it was so nice at the end of the day to collapse into that comfy bed. Heaven! The hostel is only 5 minutes walk from the town centre but also quiet, so you can get a good night's sleep. I loved this hostel. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Great location, 5 minutes from town, in a homely setting.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Tramperst Rest is a fantastic, small (probably the smallest hostel all over New Zealand) and very homely hostel near the city centre of Nelson. The owners are very friendly and amazingly helpful. If you want to go tramping anywhere in New Zealand this is the perfect place to get some professional advice. Apart from that the Trampers Rest is a perfect place to visit Nelson or relax somewhere in the homely villa or in the cosy, small garden.

The owners will introduce you to everyone else in the hostel to make sure you will have a perfect stay. I am sure you will have it! I cannot comprehend even one of the negative aspects which are mentioned in the first review. I had never problems with the facilities and the owners are great people. Some rooms might be small but the atmosphere is just awesome at this place. You will feel as if you are at home!

If you have been here once you never want to leave this place again! I can absolutely recommend this hostel! You will have a great time!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deepbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have visited New Zealand 14 times in the last 14 years and whenever possible always choose to stay at Trampers Rest. The hosts are generous in their hospitality. They are friendly, helpful and enthusiastic hosts and our stays have always been relaxing and very enjoyable. The small house with the beautiful garden has a great atmosphere. Watch the birds and listen to fantastic music. It's a very good place for having a rest. We compare with the many guest reviews on the NZ website BBH.CO.NZ are more balanced viewpoints showing just how much travellers enjoy staying at Trampers Rest, Nelson.
Uwe and Karen, Germany.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uwe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Trampers rest is very small, which isn't a great problem, but coupled with the fact that all three staff and their children use the facilities like it was their own makes for a very cramped atmosphere (when you include guests too) making the facilities you pay for almost unusable.
To get to the heart of the matter of my complaint, we had just fled Christchurch after the city was devastated by a huge earthquake, we NEVER expected a discount of course but the whole time we stayed there the staff never left us alone, constantly asking info and wanting updates or to see pictures.
(They found out we had both lost Jobs and possibly our home) I realise that they are a business and need to make money but when thousands of free beds were being offered for cantabrians all over the country, they didnt even offer us a night free even when I had to sleep in a room the size of a cupboard the 1st night due to a mess up on their part.
NOT ONLY THIS BUT BECAUSE THEY DIDN'T CARRY CHANGE WE HAD TO PAY MORE THAN WE HAD BEEN QUOTED OR WAIT FOR HER TO GO TO THE SHOP TO GET CHANGE WHEN WE WERE IN A HURRY!!! CONVIENIANT FOR THEM! I think that is totally unacceptable. They never gave us rest (promised in the name) asking about the quake and then that! It showed us they didnt care about us but were mearly intrigued about our situation.
On a smaller note if you want to relax here you cant as they have so many rules and regulations that you dont feel comfortable doing anything.
We will never stay there again and never reccomend them to anyone.
On the plus side, if their is one, is that our situation was unique and if you just intend to sleep there, the place has one nice room and a nice atmosphere when the staff have gone to bed (next door) yes, they have their own place next door, yet use Trampers rest for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gareth022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews