We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YHA Nelson NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Nelson by Accents
Ranked #15 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“YHA Nelson NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I shared a room with three friends on two separate nights and have no complaints whatsoever.
The service was helpful and friendly and I was not too cramped in our room. The kitchen facilities were more than adequate and I liked the roomy dining area where just the four of us could comfortably sit at a table together. The bathroom was fine and there was no noise.
Our bus stop was immediately outside and there is a supermarket not far away.YHA Nelson has a higher standard than other backpackers I have stayed at and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your great review. We we work to achieve the highest standard for our guests. It's nice to hear that our efforts are appreciated!

Sean Gidall
Manager, YHA Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    49
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
28
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
316 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

In overall, it was acceptable for my stay as the staff was friendly and helpful, the kitchen was big and well equipped. Its location was perfect, just few steps from the city centre, Intercity bus depot and around 10 minutes from Nakedbus station. The bathroom was clean.
However, my room was windowless and quite hot. As someone has written on TripAdvisor, the bed bugs were available! I have got flea-bites, that's why I doubt on the "5-star accommodation" claim of this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Owner at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and for your positive comments. And thank you also for contacting us directly to let us know which room you stayed in.

We’ve gone back into that room and have had a thorough look at the room, the beds and all the bedding and have determined the room is bug free. Although there is no evidence of bedbugs or any other bugs in the room, we have treated the room anyway to be absolutely sure. As we’ve stated in a past TripAdvisor response, we are very proactive with the prevention and treatment (when found) of bedbugs and our staff are trained to recognise the signs of bedbugs during the daily cleaning. We also do not allow guests to use sleeping bags in any YHA hostels, as sleeping bags can carry bedbugs. It is also helpful when we are immediately made aware of any possibility of bedbugs so we can deal with any potential problem as soon as possible.

When you contacted us directly, you mentioned the bites you received were on your legs. This suggests that the bites are likely sandfly or mosquito bites, although I would need to see them to be certain. Both sandflies and mosquitos are quite common this time of year.

Sean Gidall
Manager, YHA Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

My personal number one yha hostel in new zealand.
Very comfortable. Perfect Central location. Always friendly and helpful staff.
Very clean!!!
I stayed there for more than six weeks.
A realy nice place to stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The receptionist was abrupt and rude. Put me off immediately. I thought i had reserved a room with a private, but she said they were all booked up. Then both my daughter and I awoke with many bed bug bites....even though we were there on Feb 19, 2014, our bites are still itchy and huge. The hostel was the worse hostel I have ever stayed at. The only saving grace was a gentlemen who worked the front desk. I HIGHLY recommend NO ONE to stay there!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otter94037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Nelson by Accents, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I have gone through the room of your stay, as well as the rest of the hostel, and have confirmed that we are bedbug-free.

Bedbugs are the best backpackers in the world and tend to travel with guests, so ours is a constant challenge of identifying when they've turned up and making sure the problem is resolved as soon as possible.

We are very proactive with the prevention and treatment (when found) of bedbugs and our staff are trained to recognise the signs of bedbugs during the daily cleaning. We also do not allow guests to use sleeping bags in any YHA hostels, as sleeping bags can carry bedbugs. It is also helpful when we are immediately made aware of any possibility of bedbugs so we can deal with any potential problem as soon as possible.

I see you booked your room on the Hostelling International website. That website is undergoing a major revamp and we'll make sure the room descriptions are phrased clearly to prevent misunderstandings when that revamp goes live.


Sean Gidall
Manager, YHA Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

After 2 weeks around New Zealand, twin room we got here was the most expensive one, as well as the smallest one we got from all the hostels we have been. Front staff is good, helping with all they can and very kind.
Nice and great kitchen spaces ( in fact 2 kitchens) as well and tv and living rooms area, with great facilites such a table tennis (great to know more travelling fellas).
Superb location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hostel right in the centre of town. Immaculately clean, pretty quiet and awesome hot showers, I'd highly recommend this budget hostel. The staff were also friendly and helpful and it's great being able to easily walk into the centre of town

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank la8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed twice for a total of three nights recently.
Had one night in a five bed dorm room and two nights in double bedded rooms.

The dorm room was small and a bit pokey for five people.

Staff on the reception desk were efficient but not overly friendly (HR needs to help staff improve their interpersonal skills!!!)

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it, go for a double or a triple room for a peaceful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaestheticD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Nelson by Accents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Nelson by Accents

Property: YHA Nelson by Accents
Address: 59 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Nelson by Accents 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda and Royce who ran the famous Accents on the Park Backpackers for a decade are now proud to welcome travellers to their new hostel in Nelson. Qualmark rated 5 Star and located right in the middle of NZ's sunniest city, YHA by Accents brings travellers home-style hospitality and great facilities all right next to Nelson's famous Saturday Market and walking distance to all the best cafes and restaurants in town. Use YHA by Accents as a convenient base to access 5 National Parks including the Abel Tasman, Kahurangi and Nelson Lakes. Our spacious kitchen facilities provide you with everything you need including a sunny BBQ courtyard and garden. There is Secure (internal) Bike Storage, a Piano, Foosball, table tennis and huge (Free) DVD collection. Of course we have great internet access too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your YHA Nelson by Accents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing