We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Nelson by Accents
Ranked #19 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here,

Location is good shops and restaurants all round you so perfect and also a big supermarket so very handy.

** if you are arriving by car there is no parking as such as it is so centrally located so the car park behind you can park however its free from 5pm - 9am & outside if these hours is $1 per hour ( maximum 3 hours on one ticket ) so hopefully this gives you a heads up.

Staff were really nice in us arriving the two ladies were very funny and accommodating.

Our room was lovely we had a double ensuite and it was great - lovely and clean and comfortable with a kettle and again spotlessly clean. The whole place was very clean, well laid out with lots of info so I definitely made the right choice.

Kitchen area is big and people friendly.

If you are on a budget but want somewhere decent and central to stay then I would recommend staying here.

Cheers nelson team.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Good kitchen, friendly helpful staff, good set up of bedrooms/bathrooms upstairs and all else downstairs. Good bathroom and shower facilities. Slightly pricey but central location. Thry can boom all your AbelTasman activities and some great info walls.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbronDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here for my first two nights in New Zealand, and I was satisfied overall but not thoroughly impressed with this hostel.

The good: The location is fantastic as it was right next to the Saturday Farmer's Market and is located right in the center of town. The hostel staff were really helpful and gave me great suggestions of where to go and what to do. Since it was very rainy when I was there, I was in the lounge for much of the day, where you can watch a large variety of movies, play the piano, play pool, or ping pong. The kitchen is spacious and the resources there are plentiful. There are also many brochures for tourists to browse through in the lounge.

The bad: The price ends up being more than it seems, because they charge you $2 for lockers and $10 per day for internet. This was my only complaint, but I am starting to realize that everything in New Zealand is just more expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for one night, did not use the kitchen or the laundry so can't comment but the rooms were very spacious very clean and very warm. The rooms had plenty of space, even a little couch and side table to relax and a mini sink! The locations was great, right around the corner from the saturday market. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. I was impressed on how clean the toilets and showering facilities were. The place was also very quite.

Location is great!! Right smack down in town, and right beside the saturday market.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas 2011.

Good stuff:
- Location - close to the town centre and not too far from bus station etc
- Small outdoor communal area
- Large kitchen with seating

Not so good stuff:
- Christmas Day, sat outside around 10.30pm just chatting and we received a whole host of complaints that we were too noisy and had to go to bed. It seemed especially miserable given it was Christmas Day and we were not making excessive noise. Apparently all the noise reverberates off the walls and makes it very noisy for the rooms facing the patio. So they seriously need to address the soundproofing.
- Seemed to be full of older people and many of them long term residents - which I have no problem with. However that's a little unusual for a youth hostel, and it also meant that by about 10pm you couldn't really use any communal areas (see above point) unless you were extremely quiet.
- Outdoor areas were very small and not spacious enough for the amount of people staying there.
- Room became like a sauna because of the glass area and got quite unbearable in the night when full of people.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelcheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, it has a great location, friendly staff and a good atmosphere. Stayed in a 5 bed room which was really clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were very clean as well. They have a good games room and tv room and a very large kitchen with outside patio as well.

Enjoyed staying here and Nelson is a cute town to explore. Recommend going to the nearby beach Tahunanui, it's gorgeous!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 43 in Nelson
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
0.3 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Backpackers
Aurora Backpackers
#35 of 43 in Nelson
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almond House Backpackers
Almond House Backpackers
#12 of 43 in Nelson
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Nelson by Accents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Nelson by Accents

Address: 59 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $32 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Nelson by Accents 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linda and Royce who ran the famous Accents on the Park Backpackers for a decade are now proud to welcome travellers to their new hostel in Nelson. Qualmark rated 5 Star and located right in the middle of NZ's sunniest city, YHA by Accents brings travellers home-style hospitality and great facilities all right next to Nelson's famous Saturday Market and walking distance to all the best cafes and restaurants in town. Use YHA by Accents as a convenient base to access 5 National Parks including the Abel Tasman, Kahurangi and Nelson Lakes. Our spacious kitchen facilities provide you with everything you need including a sunny BBQ courtyard and garden. There is Secure (internal) Bike Storage, a Piano, Foosball, table tennis and huge (Free) DVD collection. Of course we have great internet access too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your YHA Nelson by Accents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing