We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in room facilities, smaller room than most NZ motels, relatively overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked a double spa studio apartment. It was well equipped with a dishwasher as well as the usual hob / microwave / fridge and in the bathroom a washing machine and a tumble drier. Everything was clean and well presented.

The room is big enough, but not as large as either that in other motels we stayed at in New Zealand or what you might expect from the photo on the website which was obviously taken using a very wide angle lens, and the two massive chairs that sit at the bottom of the bed facing the TV and dominate the room were taken away for the photo (you can just see on the left of the website picture). The bathroom was of a good size and included a walk in shower. We enjoyed sitting on the pleasant balcony in the evening.

There is nothing wrong with this place, and if you want to spend your time watching TV while doing loads of washing it might be ideal. But we did not and felt that, particularly given the room size, it was relatively overpriced.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review DeLorenzo's Studio Apartments. It is always nice to hear
guests appreciate our standard of cleanliness and facilities provided. We take pride in providing clean, well equipped rooms, and try to cater for most of the travelling guests needs. We certainly appreciate your comments and will take these in to consideration when next refurbishing our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Delorenzos Studio Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 373 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

A great little motel within 10 minutes walk from the centre of Nelson. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Lovely restaurant over the road in their sister hotel which is chargeable back to your room. Washer and dryer in your bathroom. Comfy bed and great kitchen facilities. We will be back when visiting Nelson in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GapYearTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing us with the world, it is a fantastic place!
Your views are appreciated and please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The apartment we had there was a laundry machine and a dryer. TOP! Everything was clean and new. TV with all channels from all over the world. DVD player, radio. Staff is very friendly.
Parking place for your car near you apartment.
Traveling in NZ this was one of the better ones.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Frans77110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you, the time you have taken to write your review is very much appreciated, we hope you visit DeLorenzo's again in the future.
Karen Pimm
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights in a studio apartment here. The room was a little small, and lacked privacy as it fronted on to the pool, which several people used quite a lot. On the plus side, it was well equipped, including a washing machine, and extremely well located: the centre of town was an easy 5-10 mins walk away, and there was a good supermarket about 5 mins away. We also liked being offered the option of not having the studio cleaned on our second day, as a gesture towards environmental responsibility. I found the king bed in our studio way to hard, though my husband slept on it OK (I didn't).

Room Tip: Try to avoid a downstairs studio fronting the pool as the noise can be quite intrusive.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Many thanks, we value and appreciate all comments and yes it is difficult to have mattresses that suit everyone.
Our heated salt water pool is open from 8am to 9pm daily and available for all guests to use at their leisure.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to sunny Nelson in the future and provide you with a more enjoyable experience.
Karen Pimm
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Delorenzos is clean, friendly and comfortable, with a clothes washing machine in the unit and ideally placed for exploring Nelson. We liked it so much we stayed a week and will use it again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Many thanks for the review. We do pride ourselves on our clean comfortable accommodation. We are situated in the middle of Nelson, within walking distance of the Information Centre, cafes, restaurant's and shops.
Karen Pimm
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This places got good locations to the CBD, within 10 minute drive you're at the beach. Staff is really welcoming and nice. facility's are all good. Prices are fair. No traffic noise.

We stayed here 3 nights, around christmas. Since Nelson only has only 2 hotels, lots of hostels and many motels, we liked this best.
We stayed in 1 other motel, 1 hotel and a friend of our joined us in this motel after she left her hostel.
Good place to take some trips, for a skydive, the beach, a walk in Abel Tasman etc.

I'll definitely recommend it for a couple of nights in Nelson!

Room Tip: We got a room on the ground floor close to the pool. No complaints, just a good place!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankbaars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thankyou for your review. We are fortunately located very close to everything - including the Information site which is 2 minutes walk from us . This enables access to bookings for any of the Abel Tasman National park adventures, kayaks, skydiving, boat trips and guided walks etc.
It certainly sounds like you made the most of your time here in The Top of the South - Natures playground.

Regards
Averil Lark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed two nights here- very convenient for getting into centre of town, well equipped and spacious accommodation, thought the proximity of the road might be noisy but weren't actually bothered by it. Very large and comfy bed- all in all good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay at Delorenzos.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

Although we are located on the main road, we are at the end of town furtherest away from the traffic and the road is quiet in this area at night.

Regards
Averil Lark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delorenzos Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delorenzos Studio Apartments

Address: 43 - 55 Trafalgar Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $70 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Delorenzos Studio Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautifully appointed, 5-star accommodation with luxurious super king bed, spa bath, sky television, high speed cabled broadband, CD/Stereo, BBQ area and loads of character and charm. An award winning fine dining experience is moments away at The Tides Restaurant and Bar. Whet your appetite for Dining here.Also located nearby are extensive conference and special occasion facilities. Planning an event? Please tell us how we can help. At Delorenzo's we aim to create an experience that is blissfully relaxed and service-rich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delorenzos Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing