We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable modern apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The room had good facilities including the washer and drying machines. Compared to the other luxury hotels it seemed quite expensive. It is very well located. For some odd reason most hotels in New Zealand are located off a main road. My request was met by having a room at the back of the hotel. However traffic is quite after 9:00 pm.

Room Tip: Get a quieter room in the center or towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thankyou for submitting a review on your stay at Delorenzos.
We are pleased that you found your accommodation comfortable, but surprised to hear that in comparison to other luxury properties, we were expensive? We have Winter rates available right now, which make staying in our apartments a very affordable option when compared to even a 4 star hotel. Nelson is a sought after destination in New Zealand and accommodation prices are therefore reflected in the demand of the high summer season. However, we have excellent rates available on line through Wotif and Booking.com and of course our own Website.
Our location is unique, so close to the town centre and within 2 -5 minutes walk to all Cafes, Restaurants and shopping area, and of course the well renowned Saturday Market.
We hope you will have the opportunity to visit the Top of The South in NewZealand again.
Best Regards
Averil Lark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 395 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

A large group of us stayed at De Lorenzo's for 2 nights during a work trip. The apartment was lovely and had everything you might need including washing machine, well equipped kitchen for self-catering, small stereo, TV and WiFi access. The location is on a main road but we had no problems with noise during the evening. it is very close (short walk) to the CBD and there is a Countdown supermarket nearby. (Note if you are arriving in Nelson later in the evening during weekdays, that supermarkets and restaurants are likely to be closed by 10pm and perhaps even earlier.)
The thing that impressed me the most was the customer service. Check in was speedy & well organised, and helpful when we came to her with inquiries. We ate breakfast across the road at the affiliated Trailways, and we appreciated the fact they opened the restaurant 30 minutes earlier than usual to cater for our early start. They also organised a packed lunch for our group at a reasonable price, and managed well with the various dietary requirements of some individuals. Restaurant staff were also friendly and helpful.
All in all I would be most happy to stay at De Lorenzo's again, and only wish I had more time to enjoy what the place had to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ristari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thankyou so much for your excellent review. I remember your group well and the different needs required due to your long day field trips. We are pleased that we were able to assist with packed lunches, accommodating your needs, and with recommending places to visit in the town, after your busy day.
You had a full programme and I recall your comments at the time about how nice it was to come back to the luxury of your apartment and relax after such long and physical days.
We hope we have the opportunity to host you again , either as a group or individually.
Best Regards
Averil Lark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After travelling around for three weeks it was so refreshing to stay in such a lovely place! Immaculate room with great facilities. Even had a dishwasher and washing machine (with washing powder included!). Walking distance to town. Can't complain!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to record your satisfaction online.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your blissful experience at Delorenzos.
We are always striving to ensure that our guests every needs are met and although we get very good feedback from our guests at checkout, it is always rewarding to see it in writing.

We are pleased that you were able to relax and feel the luxury of staying in one of our well appointed apartments with our very fortunate location - just 2-5 minutes walk to anywhere in our beautiful city area.

We hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Regards
Averil Lark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

After reading all the reviews I was expecting it to be amazing but it didn't quite live up. This could just have been due to the very high expectations. It was a very nice studio suite, very clean, with a spa tub. It was nice to have a washing machine and dryer as well, after travelling for a couple weeks. The location could not have been any better. So all in all I thought it was a very nice stay, but I have stayed in nicer places for the same money, but Nelson is an expensive place and I am sure a decent portion of cost is simply to do with the excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thankyou for your review.
From your comments, you were obviously allocated a room in our Standard Studio Block.
This area is priced lower in comparison to the rest of the property and if you have booked on line at the lower lead in rate, this is where you will be accommodated. The Standard Studios do all have the same facilities as the more upmarket rooms Poolside or Executive apartments, but are not quite as new as the rest of the property.
However we continue to get very good reviews from the guests who have stayed in the standard apartments. We are sorry that your expectations were not met, but pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay and our excellent downtown location .
If you choose to stay with us in the future, I would suggest that you book one of our Poolside or Executive apartments and I feel sure that you would not be disappointed.
Regards
Averil Lark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

After reading all the great reviews I was expecting something much better than we got. The apartment block we were in only had 4 car parking spaces for 10 apartments. So we had to park elsewhere and then make several trips to take in all our luggage and then repeat the same process when we left.The rooms are not quite and we could hear the t.v. in the adjoining room and people stomping around in the room above us. We had cobwebs around the ceiling and the toilet seat had some kind of rubber adhesive around it. All the white ware was turning a nasty yellow color and there was a cracked tile in the kitchen floor and a cracked tile on the shower wall with mold in the grouting in the shower. We were really looking forward to our stay here in we will not bother to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Anthony G,
I can honestly say I was shocked to read this review. After continual rave reviews for the whole of this year, It almost sounds as though you are writing about the wrong property?
As I am unable to establish your date of stay and room number, I can only sympathise with your disappointment and hope that all your stays in Nelson in the future are pleasant ones.
The remarks you have made about the unit, do not appear relevant or evident in any of the rooms that I have inspected in the area that you refer to.
There are only 4 car park spaces directly in front of the Standard Studio block, but ample off street parking in the adjacent car park within the Delorenzo property.
I would suggest that in future if you ever did choose to stay with us again, that you request either a poolside or an executive apartment, of which both have more accessible car park facilities, instead of our standard studio block, which although provide all the same facilities, are priced on a lower tariff in comparison.
I am sincerely disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the room that you were allocated and that if you had mentioned this at the time of check in, we would have had the opportunity to rectify.
However, I would appreciate your direct contact next time you are coming to Nelson and I will be very happy to offer you a Complimentary upgrade to one of our Executive apartments.
Averil Lark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We just got home from a four night stay at Delorenzos. I chose this property because I like staying in apartments when we're away for longer than a couple of nights, and the reviews on Trip Advisor were excellent. It was easy to see why! Our room was perfect and the small extra touches make a big difference: plunger coffee, milo, biscuits, paper delivered, internet, 50+ Sky channels, washing machine and dryer and room serviced to a high standard every day. We did a lot of activities during the day and it was awesome to go back to Delorenzos and be able to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oannao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thankyou for your positive feedback .
We are indeed priveleged to be managing such a well appointed accommodation property.
Our guests are continually praising the facilities - absolutely nothing forgotten - everything that is required for a comfortable stay in your home away from home. It is very rewarding to hear.
We therefore strive to compliment this by ensuring the cleanliness and service is as exceptional as the apartments are.
We hope you will have the opportunity to stay at Delorenzos again in the future.
Regards
Averil Lark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights at DeLorenzos for a break away.The motel was perfectly situated - a few minutes walk to town for restaurants, supermarket, shops and movie theatre. Our upstairs studio room was at the back of the complex and was very quiet. It had a microwave, two cooking hobs, dishwasher, washing machine and drier and a small balcony to read or just sit in the sun. The bed was a little firm for my liking but my husband didn't seem to mind as he slept like a log! The underfloor heating was an added bonus. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Delorenzos Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thankyou for your complimentary review.
We appreciate your comments and feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you and/or your friends in the future.
Regards
Averil Lark
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 42 in Nelson
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delorenzos Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delorenzos Studio Apartments

Address: 43 - 55 Trafalgar Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $99 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Delorenzos Studio Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautifully appointed, 5-star accommodation with luxurious super king bed, spa bath, sky television, high speed cabled broadband, CD/Stereo, BBQ area and loads of character and charm. An award winning fine dining experience is moments away at The Tides Restaurant and Bar. Whet your appetite for Dining here.Also located nearby are extensive conference and special occasion facilities. Planning an event? Please tell us how we can help. At Delorenzo's we aim to create an experience that is blissfully relaxed and service-rich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Delorenzos Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing