We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable stay but needs attention to customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Reasonable stay but needs attention to customer service”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The room was average, but given that the hotel is not the newest around, that is what would be expected. Yes it looked out over the 'river' but at that time of the year it is more of a creek, not the hotel's problem. There is an outsiode decl, but there is no divider between rooms so you are not assured of privacy unless you close the curtains. The room was close to the restaurant and we noticed the noise from others, not good since we notice noise as we live in the countryside. There is no control over parking, so when there was a large private gathering, they used up all the parking and we had to park some distance away which was very inconvenient and unsettling with the thought of having a rental car parked in another street opening the potential for vandalism. To their credit after I complained they did advise me when a space came free and I was able to bring the car back and park in the grounds. My normal experience is that carparking is assigned to guest staying at the hotel/motel with casual visitors needing to find parking elsewhere.
Staff need some upskilling in the local attractions though, and we found things by driving around rather than any real direction from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davec50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    199
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
244
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2011

A very welcoming hotel with efficient and friendly service. Well appointed, clean rooms with balconies overlooking the river. A most impressive restaurant with excellent food and local wines recommended to compliment the dishes. An easy walk into the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Booking at the last minute on the internet for a few nights in Nelson we were unsure of our choice but really very impressed and surprised.
Trailways was easy to find with plenty of parking.
The staff were very nice and with a minimum of fuss were had our 2 rooms.
The rooms we had were basic but nice, tidy and clean. Very good value for money.
We elected to dine in the Hotel restaurant the first night and were really surprised, excellent service, lovely meals and great wine choice, overlooking the river made for a very nice relaxing evening.
We travelled with a young child, the restaurant staff were very obliging with helping us keep him happy while we enjoyed our evening.
My only negative comment on the hotel is the glass pool fence/surrounds are very open to the passing public to see in and should be covered with a simple vinyl dusted frosting for a little bit of privacy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Our-NZ-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at the Trailways Hotel for just one night on our guided motorcycle tour of South Island. Having to deal with traffic, after exploring the more remote North West coast was a bit of a shock, but the location of the hotel on the edge of the town, next to the river, meant that we could walk everywhere we wanted to go during our stay.
We had a ‘Spa’ room with a very pleasant view overlooking the river; the spa referring to the Jacuzzi bath, which was a novelty. We stayed in more spacious rooms while in New Zealand, but the standard of service, cleanliness and facilities at Trailways were still all very good.
The convenient location allowed us plenty of time to walk into town to the cafes, most of which are at the far end near the cathedral, and also to enjoy a pleasant river side walk to the marina – watch out for the shags and other diving birds.
We experienced the same issue with hearing the conversations of other guests, but, in our case, this was due to the proximity of the adjoining balconies. It wasn’t a problem for us and we enjoyed a very restful night’s sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samphireskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Great hotel with regards to cleanliness, comfort and location. Trailways is located just off of the main street - within a short walking distance to all of the towns restaurants and bars. While Nelson is located about an hour away from Abel Tasman National Park, most wine tours, kayaking companies and hiking companies will pick you up from a stop near the hotel.

The rooms are clean and spacious. Free wi-fi is available in the main lobby if you have your own computer. Guest laundry is also available. The restaurant serves a wide variety of meals for dinner with a great breakfast buffet selection. The bar area is located outside near the river, offering good views of the town.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Excellent, well-appointed hotel - with excellent food, both dinner and breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKMALETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel was very nice. We had a room facing out to the ocean inlet. Flat-screen TV, lots of closet space. The internet is a little pricey but overall the room was good. My favorite part about our room was the heated floor in the bathroom. So nice to not step on a freezing tile floor. Not far from the ocean. The location was nice for us because it wasn't in the middle of town so we didn't have to deal with any morning traffic when we left in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photogirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Property: Trailways Hotel Nelson
Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre, and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing