We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had a great stay and didn't want to leave. Located near the city centre next to the river. Had a balcony by the river which we used for breakfast. Spa bath was a real luxury. Clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback of Trailways Hotel. Riverside Rooms are a nice option, as are the spa baths - always nice to have a wee luxury when you are
away from home. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Trailways Hotel Nelson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 484 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and had a lovely weekend. The hotel is located in a great spot, just a short walk from the city centre.
We chose a riverside room on the first floor which was very pleasant. Our room had a power shower, sofa bed, table/2 chairs and balcony overlooking the river. The room was a good size and well maintained. The layout was a bit weird though, I think that that the table was moved to accommodate the sofabed. There were 2 random plugs on the wall behind the sofa, presumably for the kettle which would have been on the table in that spot. Instead the table was against the wall underneath the TV which meant that the nearest plug for the kettle was over the carpeted suitcase shelf. Not a major issue but a bit annoying, not having the kettle on the table with the tray, cups etc.
The staff were friendly and accommodating - we stored our luggage as we arrived early on check-in day. We didn't try the restaurant but next time we visit Nelson we will be back.
Pros:- great location, comfortable bed, large TV, amazing shower, heated bathroom tiles
Cons:- no fan in bathroom, weird layout, no lift, lack of soundproofing, noisy guests from a large gathering on the Saturday night. They were shouting up and down the corridors, knocking on doors in the middle of the night and running up and down the stairs. However there's not a lot you can do about inconsiderate guests!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have a lovely view of the tidal river
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you have enjoyed the location of Trailways Hotel,
and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again.
I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

everything about this place is pretty spot on, it is very nice and very affordable, extremely good value.
My only quibble, and it is a small complaint at worst, was the resturant which is beautifully appointed was to my mind a little overpriced, we ate elsewhere.

Regardless of that l would still rate it an excellent place to be, and would definitely return in the future

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Many thanks for your positive feedback, so good to hear you enjoyed our facilities and location.
It is great to be able to walk to movies, Restaurants, shops and markets when visiting a different town. In regards to your comments on our Restaurant pricing, alongside our A la Carte Menu, we also offer both a 2 course set menu @ $39.90, and a 3 course set menu @ $43.90, still giving several options of each course. We find these are very popular, both with house guests and many Nelson locals. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Checking in was easy, room great, restaurant better than great. Perfect location for shopping in Nelson. Perfect for a base for travel around area. Excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again. Friendly staff.Really enjoyed staying here

Room Tip: We were on ground floor overlooking river, which is tidal. Nice area outside for drinks before dinne...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rxorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback of Trailways Hotel. It is always great to hear our efforts to provide a high standard of accommodation, meals and service are recognised. The Riverside
rooms are very popular, especially through the warmer months of the year, when you can sit outside on the terrace of an afternoon or evening. We look forward to the opportunity to host
you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Good check-in from friendly receptionist. Doors to hallway to room difficult to handle with luggage. Automatic doors would be great. Room was comfortable, however not soundproof. Woke early to an alarm in next room, a couple having a conversation, then took a shower, then another conversation, than another shower!
More ventilation required in bathroom to get rid of steam from shower. Ate 2 nights in the Tides Restaurant, outstanding service, outstanding meals. Good menu selection. Quality and quantity perfect. Motel location to amenities excellent, short walk into city.

Room Tip: Ground floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Trailways Hotel on line.
Fantastic to hear you were well looked after by our staff both in Reception and our Restaurant.
Our sincere apologes for the disturbance from alarms and guests conversatons. We look forward
to the opportunity to right this on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a a great value for money Hotel/Motel in Nelson NZ. Situated on the back of a tidal river that is overlooked by the Bar and Restaurant and there are both ground floor and first floor rooms that overlook the river also. Situated very close to the shopping precinct of Nelson, an easy walk to the shopping precinct, Banks, Supermarket, Boating harbour and if your a bit more energetic, a good, testing walk to the Nelson lookout (be warned, it is a steep, steep climb, but well worth the effort). Rooms are spacious with a well equipped kitchen set up, clean and well maintained, staff were very friendly and accommodating. Good value for money, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river would be a little quieter as they are further from the road, but the roa...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Trailways Hotel online. It is always great
to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay, and made the most of our proximity to
many of the towns attractions. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

As a solo traveller, I chose this hotel for its location:
It was about 6 minutes walk from the intercity bus stop
to the hotel. The room was clean and the staff was
friendly. This was one of the best hotels and motels
I stayed during my 47 days trip in Australia and New
Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yyf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trailways Hotel. We think the location is
great too, especially if you enjoy to be able to wander, information centre, movies, restaurants
and shops within 5-10 minutes. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#9 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $68 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes' walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing