We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Nearby Hotels
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$96
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$155
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$122
$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$87
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$94
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
254
216
62
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
216
62
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewgreat locationtides restaurantspa bathunderfloor heating in the bathroomcomfortable hotelhotel restaurantfirst floorreception staffguest laundrycentral locationnice roomnew zealandeasy walkfree wificlose to townthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 555 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is well situated close to the centre of the town. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our two night stay. Both dinners and breakfasts were of excellent quality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel Nelson. Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your meals in The Tides Restaurant and I hope you got an opportunity to explore our region during your stay.
Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Excellent hotel. We booked for one night and stayed two. Our (tidal) riverside room was a delight. Housekeeping should be highly recommended.Thank you Sue. Beautiful bedlinen and room décor. Very comfortable amenities.Night manager went above usual call of duty for us. Thank You Joe. Reception staff exceptional and understanding. We highly recommend this hotel which is placed just over the bridge from the lovely township of a very pretty location in NZ. We plan to return. Outstanding hospitality can be expected here.

Room Tip: We chose and delighted in river view room on ground floor and enjoyed sitting out on own patio to relax.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 844Duchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for reviewing Trailways Hotel Nelson, as feedback is very important to us. Its great to hear that our staff were part of making sure you enjoyed your stay.

The riverside rooms are a wonderful place to sit on a quiet evening, so I'm very glad you made the most of that.

I will definitely pass your kind words on to the housekeeper and night porter.

Regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We chose this property for its proximity to Nelson's CBD and were not disappointed. Property itself is well maintained. It appears they have a lot of business travelers. Front desk staff were efficient and professional. Our room and bath were clean and spacious with good toiletry amenities provided. Bed comfortable. Room was air conditioned. A small bar fridge was provided but we didn't find the coffee maker until it was too late to use. It was sort of hidden away. There were no other self-catering facilities in the room. Free internet worked well. We opted not to eat at the hotel, which appears to have a fine restaurant, because we thought it was overpriced. But most everything in NZ appears overpriced to us. For NZ$117, we thought this was a relatively good value with an excellent location for central Nelson.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for placing a review of Trailways Hotel Nelson. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our facilities within the room and our location just a few minutes walk from town.

Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Recently spent 1 night at this hotel. Don't be tempted to pay extra for river view spa room. When we stayed river was actually more a creek and spa bath nothing to get excited about. Room was tidy. Bed comfortable. Location is great. Few minutes walk to centre of Nelson shopping centre.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed our location, right in the heart of Nelson.
Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

A group of us stayed at Trailways the night before we did the Abel Tasman walk. It is in a very convenient place in Nelson and is an easy walk to the shops and Supermarket.
The bar was lovely for a drink and a view of the river. The pool was also nice for a dip in the afternoon. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well appointed. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dididdly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Trailways Hotel Nelson. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank-you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you had a lovely time in the Abel Tasman National Park

Kind regards
Sara and all the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews