We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok stay but overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trailways Hotel Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok stay but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed New Years and were lucky to get a hotel in nelson. Room was priced substantially more than when NOT New Years. Room was clean and had a balcony which is not really private given there are holes in the dividers. Location is good for nelson and an easy walk to the shops, restaurants etc.
Very overpriced for what we got. A basic hotel room but nothing to rave about. The restaurant was very good to eat at.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank delphi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Trailways Hotel Nelson. I'm glad you made the most of our unique location, only two minutes walk from town but on a quiet riverside location.
Thank you again for choosing to stay at Trailways Hotel.
Kind regards
Sara and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    187
    51
    12
    7
See reviews for
44
229
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at Trailways for 4 nights, found the room to be spacious and clean. Although the bathroom was a little small, the shower is fantastic. Very close to the main centre of town, and the view over the Maitai river from the restaurant is very nice. The only downside of our stay there was the thin walls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonG975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel Nelson. Your room had one of our new multi-jet showers, which are very popular with our regular gusests. I'm delighted to hear you also made the most of our central city location and enjoyed the rivers views from the restaurants and rooms.
I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Regards
Sara and all the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We are not at all sorry that we stayed here because we never had to move our car in 2 days. The hotel makes much of it's riverside location, but to us, that was just plain weird because the river literally disappeared for fully half the time (when the tide was out), leaving a muddy, greenish slime view from our second-floor room. The wind kept knocking our patio umbrella over, so finally we just left it on the ground (another guest had his blown off his balcony altogether.

The room was not large but it worked - it had a tiny fridge and tea dishes and utensils, a small table and a couple of chairs and a respectable bed. If you need TV, this place is for you - they have tons of channels and good movies.

The one thing we had trouble getting used to was that the room did not lock unless you pushed in the lock button on the knob. We realized this when some people walked right into our room, thinking it was theirs. Also, there is no elevator so guests need to be prepared to walk up a flight or get themselves a ground-floor accommodation.

This review is strictly for the hotel - we did not eat at the onsite restaurant.

Room Tip: Disabled travelers must ask for a ground-floor room as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel. I'm delighted you made the most of our proximity to Nelson's central city, with all the wonderful cafes, art galleries and speciality shops.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the new umbrellas and the unseasonal winds we had recently. I am currently investigating options to prevent this happening again.

I would also like to apologise that other guests entered into your room accidentally. The door locks are a very common type in New Zealand but I do recognise that they are unfamilar for our overseas guests.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your visit to New Zealand.

Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

For the past ten days we have enjoyed the hospitality of this fine quality establishment. The front of house from reception to the serving team in the restaurant have been very welcoming and pleasant throughout our stay. The hotel offers everything you could want on your travels, including a guest laundry, excellent food, including one of the best breakfast buffet in Nelson and an excellent selection of drinks from the hotel bar. The house keeping team look after you exceptionally well and maintain excellent standards in the rooms. The room we had overlooked the river with a fine balcony. This hotel is well placed for all Nelson attractions and has ample off street parking right in the centre of Town. This hotel will always be our top choice when visiting Nelson.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Trailways Hotel. We really enjoy having guests stay for longer periods, as it gives us a chance to get to know you and suggest places to visit around our lovely region. I'm delighted to hear your enjoyed your meals in The Tides Restaurant, which is well known for its extensive evening menu and the ever-popular breakfast buffet.
We certainly look forward to your next visit with us.
Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

A very friendly and welcoming gentleman met us when we arrived and he couldn't have been more helpful too.

The hotel is clean and well maintained and the staff were great, friendly and knowledgeable and keen to help.

In a very good location too it was a great start to our visit in the South Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wimmsical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you visit us again.
Kind regards
Sara and the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

As small hotels go this one is up there with the best. It was clean, comfortable, welcoming and with all the services I needed. The room was light and airy with a useful patio area outside.The staff were friendly and particularly helpful in sorting out a Wine Tour for me. Laundry facilities are good - easy use of slot machine washer and dryer. The restaurant was acceptable with tasty food for both breakfast and dinner. The hotel is well placed for the town, just by the river bridge, with a quick few seconds walk onto the main shopping street.It makes a very good base for exploring the Nelson area. Well recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments about Trailways Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful. We love having international visitors stay, so we can help to show off our lovely region. I'm also glad you made the most of the hotel's proximity to the centre of Nelson and that you enjoyed your meals in The Tides Restaurant.
Kind regards
Sara and all the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is well situated for major road access and the town centre. We had a lovely room overlooking the swimming pool which was a lovely asset. The spa bath was wonderful. The rooms were modern, clean and a very comfortable large bed. The staff were smiling and friendly, breakfast was good, we had the continental but the full cooked breakfast looked lovely. The hotel is well placed for the town centre with its lovely bars.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Trailways Hotel. Its great to hear you enjoyed your poolside room and the super king bed. I hope you took the time to have a dip in the heated pool - its a lovely way to relax at the end of the day.
Thank you again for your comments.
Regards
Sara and all the team at Trailways Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Property: Trailways Hotel Nelson
Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre, and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing