We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Located on the main road into Nelson, a short walk from the retail/business area. Very nicely appointed room and situated on the river. Our room was on the side of the motel facing the road, but we did not hear the traffic at all. A local paper was delivered to the door compliments of the management. The motel looks fairly new and all fittings in good condition nicely appointed, very clean and well maintained. Nelson is a nice little town near the top of the South Island of New Zealand and the scenery that we saw both on the way in and on the way out the next morning was spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 508 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2008

Aside from a rather frosty welcome when we checked in, Trailways was a fine base for a few days in Nelson. Our room overlooked the car park/tiny swimming pool, so no views, but it was comfortable, every room has a spa bath and the bed was one of the most comfortable we encountered in an NZ motel.

Trailways seems to get a big conference crowd through which the restaurant/bar looked like they cater to - if you walk 5 minutes into town there's good food to be had, even on a Sunday night. (Try Cafe Delicious on the mall in front of the cathedral for upmarket Italian or Stingray for huge 'gourmet' pizzas.)

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed one night and paid extra for a room on the river, $125 NZD. We found the walls paper thin and we heard entire conversations in the room next door. When I called the front desk to see if we could move or move the guy next door, she chuckled at me and just repeated the question back to me with an incredulous tone of voice. Apparently she'd never been asked. I also asked if she would intervene and tell the loud neighbour to speak more quietly, she suggested I do it instead.
He finally shut up and we slept OK, but the thin walls and lack of response were worrisome.
If it's an empy hotel you'd be OK, but if you have the bad fortune to be next to someone on the phone, take earplugs.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Trample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

The room was spacious and everything was clean, BUT the restaurant prices for all meals was pricey. You can get better prices outside.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nejbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2006

Excellent hotel. The staff are the most friendly and welcoming I've ever experienced, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is small and friendly, and felt very homely even though we were the other side of the world. The rooms are very modern with underfloor heating and if you can, go for a riverview room. Ours was on the first floor and had a balcony looking onto the Maitai River.

The river is tidal, we thought it looked like a stream when we first arrived but it was up to the balcony within a few hours. The view is good but there is a supermarket on the other side of the river, which wasn't a problem at all for us.

Very comfortable hotel, with easy access into the centre of Nelson (5 minute walk).

I would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EZYFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2005

The location was great, right in the middle of town near all the restaurants. I think they were refurbishing when we were there, I'm sure it will be nice when it's finished. The smell of paint was rather overwhelming and our room had a cable sticking out the wall. The room was clean and a decent size. The bathroom had underfloor heating which was nice on a cold morning. I'm sure we'd have enjoyed it more without the ongoing decorating.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LauraMar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
157 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $65 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes' walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing