We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Nearby Hotels
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrow Motel Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$97
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$72
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$77
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$75
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradiso Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$62
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
244
215
62
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
215
62
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewgreat locationtides restaurantspa bathunderfloor heating in the bathroomcomfortable hotelhotel restaurantfirst floorreception staffguest laundrycentral locationnice roomnew zealandeasy walkfree wificlose to townthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 544 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a large city hotel with the usual amenities—free 500 minutes of internet, decent bathroom and bed facilities, and a small refrigerator. The water pressure is the best we have incurred during our previous two weeks of traveling the North and South Island. The beds are quite comfortable and have several options for covers. The room offers air conditioning as well as heat. You control your own unit. Each unit has a small patio or balcony (depending upon floor). We had a lovely river view room on the first floor. The hotel is very quiet and has a large parking lot in the front. Also, in the front is a small heated swimming pool and seating area. There are not umbrellas to provide shade so we did not last too long out there since the sun was very hot although the day temperature was about 22c. The pool was heated to about 27c. Towels are provided at the pool. The staff is most accommodating and there is a full service restaurant on the premises. We did not take advantage of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place your review for Trailways Hotel. It is always great to hear
such positive feedback. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand, and look
forward to the opporunity of hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Recently refitted and on quiet edge of town. VG a/c. Balcony + windows open. Burger King next door starts breakfast @ 06.00. Supermarket v. close. Not far to stroll into town - @ 15 min. Food is expensive - eat on the ferry! Free internet access but v slow

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for placing a review on Trailways Hotel. I'm very glad you enjoyed our closeness to Nelson city.
Regards, Sara Richards, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were so pleased to receive an upgrade upon arriving at Trailways! True, its not a 5-star resort, but for the money we were quite pleased. Bed was comfortable and staff was friendly. It is centrally located. The only drawback was the noise in the morning- it wasnt even 9AM when the housekeepers began vacuuming next door, banging doors, etc!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the riverside!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trailways Hotel. I will take your comments to the housekeeping staff so we can improve our service.
Regards, Sara Richards, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked online and stayed for 4 nights in February 2013. The rooms were lovely with a balcony overlooking the river. Shame tide didn't stay in permanently. The staff in all areas were always polite, friendly and courteous especially Rita and Charmaine. It was a relaxing place with excellent seating areas by the bar and restaurant after touring around Nelson. We ate in Tides Restaurant in the complex 3 nights in a row and advise that the food was exceptional. The desserts were amazing and obviously the chef is a chocolate lover which I am. Will certainly return. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for posting such a lovely positive review of Trailways Hotel and the Tides Restaurant. Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our meals. The desserts are certainly very popular! I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to Nelson.
Regards, Sara Richards, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Not a super flash Hotel, but very clean and tidy with a relaxing atmosphere. Its major asset is it's friendly and welcoming staff. The Hotels restaurant was , on the whole, very good.The food standard slips a little when the dining room is full of tour groups.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tophole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of Trailways Hotel in Nelson. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our customer service and I hope that you will visit us again when next in Nelson.
Sara Richards, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews