We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT POSITION & STAY IN NELSON”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT POSITION & STAY IN NELSON”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked online and stayed for 4 nights in February 2013. The rooms were lovely with a balcony overlooking the river. Shame tide didn't stay in permanently. The staff in all areas were always polite, friendly and courteous especially Rita and Charmaine. It was a relaxing place with excellent seating areas by the bar and restaurant after touring around Nelson. We ate in Tides Restaurant in the complex 3 nights in a row and advise that the food was exceptional. The desserts were amazing and obviously the chef is a chocolate lover which I am. Will certainly return. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely positive review of Trailways Hotel and the Tides Restaurant. Its wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our meals. The desserts are certainly very popular! I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to Nelson.
Regards, Sara Richards, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    200
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
248
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Not a super flash Hotel, but very clean and tidy with a relaxing atmosphere. Its major asset is it's friendly and welcoming staff. The Hotels restaurant was , on the whole, very good.The food standard slips a little when the dining room is full of tour groups.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tophole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of Trailways Hotel in Nelson. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our customer service and I hope that you will visit us again when next in Nelson.
Sara Richards, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I recently stayed overnight in Nelson and booked in the Trailways Hotel. The staff were very friendly - great job and made me feel welcome, as a first time guest. However the room was a little on the small side compared to the norm. Also the walls a little thin and is in need of sound proofing. But the room was clean and everything in working order. I didn't use any F&B during my stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as feedback is very important to us. Great to hear that our staff were welcoming and helpful, and we hope to see you again if you visit Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayshott, Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Trailways just before Christmas. The room was perfect and we also had a spa bath in an enormous bathroom. The view from the patio was lovely. When we arrived, the river was right up to the bank but within a short period of time it quickly receded. The hotel is very convenient for the town centre.
In all we found the hotel very friendly and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are very quiet. Hotel is also very convenient for the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for posting such a positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your room and the proximity to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a downstairs river view with spa bath room. Everything was fine, but nothing outstanding. Room could've done with some maintainence, and the river view wasn't as pretty as expected from the photos.
Loved the location - super handy for all things in CBD (we walked most places) and easy route to get out of CBD to highway.
If possible, I would choose an upstairs riverroom if I stayed again. The downstairs outside areas had no privacy - people can just walk past to get to the bar / restaurant. The neighbours cigar smoke also blew straight into our room.
I agree that the pillows were soft and uncomfortable, but I didn't get around to asking for different ones. Bed was comfy.
The pool was appartenly open from 8 to 8, but looked closed and uninviting with the cover on and no instructions of how to 'open' it. Didn't bother with the restaurant as it was expensive, and there's plenty of other good food in Nelson.
Did have a drink at the bar one afternoon. It took a long time to get service (we had to find someone and ask to be served), but they were very helpful when the did serve us, making up special orders. Not much other interaction with staff was required.
There seemed to be a lot of noise in our bathroom from other bathrooms (i.e. water running but also could hear people speaking), which we combated by just ensuring the bathroom door was closed at all times.
I paid via wotif (about 1/2 price of rack rate) - I don't think I would be prepared to pay full price.

Room Tip: Upstairs has private balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyFromAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry that your stay was apparently not an entirely positive one. If you wish to email me at events@trailwayshotel.co.nz with details of the maintenance your room was lacking, I will ensure any issues get fixed ASAP. I will also follow up on some of your other comments, as we are always working to improve our service to guests.
Regards
Sara Richards, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely room overlooking the river, central location, lots of car parking space, nice restaurant, great staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our one night here and would stay again. Thanks trailways for making our stay in Nelson comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river, theyre really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good location, large airy rooms with balcony overlooking the river. Clean, modern and comfortable - will be back.

Only comment would be that pillows were not to my liking as I like high firm pillows, but this may not be an issue for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasneem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will revisit us in the future. Possibly the spare pillows in each room might make your next stay that little bit more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.5 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Property: Trailways Hotel Nelson
Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes' walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing