We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Nearby Hotels
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$96
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$156
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$108
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$72
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$94
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$87
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveler rating
252
216
62
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
216
62
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewgreat locationtides restaurantspa bathunderfloor heating in the bathroomcomfortable hotelhotel restaurantfirst floorreception staffguest laundrycentral locationnice roomnew zealandeasy walkfree wificlose to townthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 553 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a downstairs river view with spa bath room. Everything was fine, but nothing outstanding. Room could've done with some maintainence, and the river view wasn't as pretty as expected from the photos.
Loved the location - super handy for all things in CBD (we walked most places) and easy route to get out of CBD to highway.
If possible, I would choose an upstairs riverroom if I stayed again. The downstairs outside areas had no privacy - people can just walk past to get to the bar / restaurant. The neighbours cigar smoke also blew straight into our room.
I agree that the pillows were soft and uncomfortable, but I didn't get around to asking for different ones. Bed was comfy.
The pool was appartenly open from 8 to 8, but looked closed and uninviting with the cover on and no instructions of how to 'open' it. Didn't bother with the restaurant as it was expensive, and there's plenty of other good food in Nelson.
Did have a drink at the bar one afternoon. It took a long time to get service (we had to find someone and ask to be served), but they were very helpful when the did serve us, making up special orders. Not much other interaction with staff was required.
There seemed to be a lot of noise in our bathroom from other bathrooms (i.e. water running but also could hear people speaking), which we combated by just ensuring the bathroom door was closed at all times.
I paid via wotif (about 1/2 price of rack rate) - I don't think I would be prepared to pay full price.

Room Tip: Upstairs has private balconies
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyFromAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry that your stay was apparently not an entirely positive one. If you wish to email me at events@trailwayshotel.co.nz with details of the maintenance your room was lacking, I will ensure any issues get fixed ASAP. I will also follow up on some of your other comments, as we are always working to improve our service to guests.
Regards
Sara Richards, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely room overlooking the river, central location, lots of car parking space, nice restaurant, great staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our one night here and would stay again. Thanks trailways for making our stay in Nelson comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river, theyre really nice
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good location, large airy rooms with balcony overlooking the river. Clean, modern and comfortable - will be back.

Only comment would be that pillows were not to my liking as I like high firm pillows, but this may not be an issue for everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasneem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will revisit us in the future. Possibly the spare pillows in each room might make your next stay that little bit more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Recently started here, rooms are a good size - could do with a little maintain but nothing too major. Beds comfy, no lift so you would want to be on the ground floor if you have heaps of gear. Service in restaurant/ bed very slow but food worth waiting for. Free Wifi which is a bonus

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review of Trailways Hotel Nelson. I'm glad that you enjoyed our proximity to town and free Wifi throughout the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The reception staff were so friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was good. We also had Christmas Dinner here and - considering lots of places in NZ put a holiday surcharge on the price - it was pretty good value. Ate outside overlooking the estuary in the sunshine. The serving staff were young and enthusiastic to help. The room was classy and had good attention to detail for travellers needs e.g. a small, sound operated, light in the bathroom for the middle of the night. For the British audience - don't be put off by the name which might sound like a cross between a backpackers and a railway hotel - it isn't either of those.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 121interviewcoaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about Trailways Hotel Nelson. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed our customer service, which we are very proud of. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Sara Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews