We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here overnight and the staff were brilliant. The rooms were clean. I found the walls quite thin so was a bit noisy but would stay again. Good location so you can have a night out and walk back to hotel

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JVR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. I was pleased to see our friendly team looked after you well and you enjoyed your stay in Nelson.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    200
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
246
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in september and were very happy with our choice. The room faced the river (which we requsted, so thanks for that) and although we had terrible weather it was still nice to be out on the balcony in the fresh air. The room was clean and the bed comfortable but the best bit was the underfloor heating in the bathroom, what a treat in the winter!
We didn't eat there but had a few drinks in the bar and the staff were pleasant and welcoming. One of the girls on the desk kindly assisted us in using a computer to check in for our onward flight which was very helpful to us. We would definately choose to stay here again and would recommend if you are after warm and comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a central location in Nelson.

Room Tip: its worth requesting a river facing room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachChrisM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear RachChris, it was pleasing to read your enjoyed your stay with us and everyone looked after you well during your time in Nelson. I agree the underfloor heating is lovely and a nice treat for cold feet during the winter months. Enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed four nights and enjoyed every minute. The staff were amazing - reception, restaurant, cleaners - every single one we came across. Breakfast was extensive and dinner was first class. The rooms are excellent value for money. Not the most luxurious we have experienced, but spotless, spacious and well equipped. Complementary wireless internet a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwipj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your review about Trailways Hotel Nelson. It sounds like the entire team looked after you very well to ensure you had a pleasant stay in Nelson.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed here a few times now, and have never been disappointed. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms fine for the cost, and the food in the restaurant has always been very good. I've used the conference facilities here too, and they are also very satisfactory.

I travel around the South Island a lot on business, and stay in a lot of mid priced hotels. This is by far the best in my opinion.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello David, thank you for taking the time to post your review on the conference, accommodation and restaurant facilities here at Trailways Hotel Nelson. I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and been well looked after by the team here.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My son and I stayed here for 1 night, very comfortable, modern, and very friendly. lovely views over river, and walking distance to town. very quiet. comfy beds.and everything you could want. We travelled to Takaka, and booked in for another night on our return..

Room Tip: Corner suite. large and comfy. with wrap around balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieTaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with us here at Trailways Hotel Nelson. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay so much that you started and finished your visit to Nelson with us.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel and it exceeded all my expectations. The room was a little small but very comfortable on the riverside. Nice views of the river and city. The underfloor heating was a great idea, especially in the middle of winter.
The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet, even though the hotel was full.
We had a private function in the restaurant and the food was as good as any 4 star hotel anywhere. The service from all staff was great. They were attentive and friendly.
This place ticked all my boxes.
Thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ah62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with us at Trailways Hotel Nelson. I was pleased to read that this was a memorable occasion for you all and our team exceeded your expectations in all aspects of your stay. It is always a honor to be chosen as the venue for a celebration - so thank you for selecting us.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our room had back doors opening to the river with a table and chairs out side, lovely view and nice room. Unfortunately there was a match on the night we stayed so we were woken a few times by noisey men celebrating. We had to ring reception during the night and the next morning they remembered us and apologies and gave us a delicious complentary breakfast while we were waiting for our bus. This is what I call service.

Room Tip: Get a room with doors opening onto the river, very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with us at Trailways Hotel Nelson. I was very pleased to read that our team looked after your concerns and turned a negative into a positive for you. I hope you enjoy the remainder of your travels and look foward to one day welcoming you back to Nelson
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Property: Trailways Hotel Nelson
Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes' walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing