We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms by riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“nice rooms by riverside”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

i had a ground floor room which opened onto a deck by the river. it was very nice scenenry to watch the tidal river chanf=ge levels and to relax at night. or you can get a room on second floor with a balcony- ask for the river side of the hotel.
the room was large, comfortable and modern.
noise from people outside can be a problem.
easy walk to downtown stores, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your review posting your review. Our riverside rooms and restaurant are indeed a lovely place to relax and watch the river and birdlife. Especially lovely on a high tide.
Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    199
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
244
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had room 85 - self contained with dishwasher, 2 hot plates, microwave and a guest laundry 5m from the room.

There is a supermarket directly across the river and 5 minutes walk, meaning if you are after the ability to be in town, and want to cook rather than be forced to at out - then this place is the business. The bar is well stocked and reasonably good value.

The outdoor pool is small but heated, and the kids enjoyed it. Beach reserve is 10 mins drive down the road.

Internet is pricey, so best to bring your own. All carriers have excellent coverage for mobile broadband.

We paid $195/night, but for the flexibility we got it was worth it.

Being in the middle of town was hugely beneficial - Nelson town is great - but Trailways is just across the bridge and is mentally 'out of sight and out of mind', meaning it's quiet.

Can't comment on other rooms, but room 85 was great. It sleeps 2 singles upstairs (with their own tv) and a double bed downstairs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antoniosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear Antoniosk, Thank you for taking time the to post your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor, I appreciate you feedback.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the comforts of your room and facilities here. I agree our location is great for our guests, close enough to wander into town and the shops but far enough away to be peaceful.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Trailways Hotel, we look forward to welcoming your family back again one day.

Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

A great location - very central with friendly staff. However, the major drawback for us was the noise. Our room was nextdoor to the housekeeping area and we were woken each morning with the housekeepers talking. The walls really were paper thin so we could hear everything they were saying. We also had issues with the shower as the temperature fluctuated dramatically. We did not expect to have these issues when paying almost $200 a night and when we know the standard of accommodation available elsewhere in Nelson. If these issues were addressed it could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Nicola

Thank you for posting your feedback in regards to your experiences whilst staying with us. I was sorry to hear of the shower fluctuating and can confirm this is now fixed. Problems like this we will rectify as soon as we aware of them so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I was pleased to hear our staff were friendly during your stay but very sorry to hear their chatting carried over to your room. This is certainly not the normal and your feedback has been passed on to them. They are very sorry to hear they had disturbed you and they have asked me to pass on their apology for this.

Thank you for raising your concerns. We would really like to see you again the future, so please do not hesitate to stay with us again on your next visit to Nelson.

Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Very friendly staff. Very helpful with all queries. Staff went out of their way to help. Restaurant excellent. Location A+++. Very comfortable. Have stayed there twice now and would definitely return. Definitely get river view. Well worth it despite the bad weather we had.

Room Tip: Get river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Hello Jenny, thank you for taking the time to tell your fellow travellers about your stays with us. We are pleased you have enjoyed each stay and plan on one day returning. I will certainly pass your feedback on to all our team, and look forward to welcoming you back some day soon. Hopefully when the sun is shining.

Kind regards
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Convenient location combined with nice rooms (small terrace in a riverside room on the second floor) and very helpful staff. Best breakfast spread of my NZ trip. Special touch of 4 course Christmas dinner menu from which guests could order a la carte for room service.

Room Tip: Request 2nd flor riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trailways, General Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Phyllis, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel and your stay. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and meals and you were well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards and Happy New Year
Garry Munro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed one night at this hotel and found the staff went out of there way to help in whatever way they could. Although I didn't have a river view, I had the swimming pool next to my room, and enjoyed the ease with which I could slip in and out of my room to the pool. The rooms were a comfortable size and very clean. Central Nelson was only a short walk away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moondyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

very convenient location in the centre of town, probably a 5/10 minute walk to just about every bar in the city centre. Take a room with a river view as its very tranquil and you can actually paddle if you wish as there is no fence between your patio and the river front. Other side of the hotel is facing the car park, its far enough away from the road to not be disturbed by the limited traffic (rush hours only really) that it sees.
Bar and restaurant are both good, although we had better value food in the city centre as the restaurant is not exactly cheap (NZD 35-45 mains compared to 25-35 in the city centre for a similar standard), sitting on the deck by the river with a beer is a great way to wind down.
One thing we would say is get a room further along the corridor as the bar terrace can get noisy, especially if you have a window open, probably want to be 7 or 8 rooms down the corridor to lose the noise on the ground floor.
Rooms were basic but comfortable enough, climb in showers bug me but there are obviously space limitations (bath was short as well).
Overall, a nice place to stay, not spectacular, rather its functional. We have stayed at the Mercure Monaco in Nelson before and it had more character but was quite a drag from the city centre. In other words, if the price is right, book Trailways Hotel.

Room Tip: If you're river front ask for a room away from the bar terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colandmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Property: Trailways Hotel Nelson
Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre, and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing