We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Te Puna Wai Lodge”
Review of Te Puna Wai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Ranked #3 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Te Puna Wai Lodge”
Reviewed December 8, 2006

We loved this B&B. The place was gorgeous, the view spectacular and the hosts, James and Richard, most welcoming and helpful. We have raved about them to all our friends and would return in a heartbeat. Stan and Barbara

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank bknp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    14
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
219
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Our stay at Te Puna Wai Lodge was delightful. We were made to feel "right at home" from the moment we parked the car. We stayed in The Fifeshire Suite, and we were quite content to just sit and look at the lovely view from our window. Our breakfast every morning was excellent (loved the fresh fruit salad with the mandarins from their own tree!), and it was great how Richard remembered everything we liked from the morning before. I think this is what set Te Puna Wai apart from the rest - their attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2006

We had booked Te Puna Wai for 3 nights intending to travel to kaikoura afterwards, but it was so great we ended up skipping kaikoura and booking in for another night.

We stayed in the Haulashore room which was absolutely gorgeous with fabulous views, big airy room with French windows out on to the verandah, complete with kitchen with all the facilities and complimentary beers and bubbly chilling in the fridge, we were also delighted to be able to wash all our clothes (for free), as we had been travelling for 2 weeks.

Richard and James were so friendly and relaxed, full of advice on things to do and restaurants to go to, and they made fabulous breakfasts which we enjoyed on the lawn outside. And they even replenished the free beers in the fridge, which was much appreciated as the weather was fantastic! They provided us with towels for the beach, and breakfast (yoghurt, fruit, bread, jams) to put in the fridge the night before when we had to leave at 6am one morning.
They also hoist the flag of your home country so we had the Irish flag one day and the Dutch flag the next, as that's where we're from.
I can't recommend this place highly enough, the best place we stayed in our 3 week trip.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 27, 2006

I stayed at Te Puna Wai while visiting from the U.S. along with two Aussie friends, our "home base" for touring many locations throughout the upper part of South Island. It is a beautiful and peaceful locale, with excellent service and hearty breakfasts to prepare you for the daily rigors of touring. James and Richard are charming and engaging hosts, with obvious passion for their home and for the area. I saw all of the rooms and each is spacious, comfortable, and well appointed. The Fifeshire (top floor) has a million dollar view not to be missed. You will very much enjoy a stay here.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2006

Without doubt this was THE best place we have stayed at in our trip to date in NZ. The accommodation was fantastic and is clearly the result of a passion for detail and quaility. Our room had great views to the sea. I only wish we had more time to spend in Nelson and would have no hesitation in recomending this. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Puna Wai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Puna Wai Lodge

Property: Te Puna Wai Lodge
Address: 24 Richardson Street | Britannia Heights, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Puna Wai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, historic (1857) home - in Nelson's premier location - with a magical view encompassing the harbour entrance and Tasman Bay. In the west 2 mountain ranges contribute to dramatic sunsets. Three elegant rooms: Haulashore Apartment has a designer kitchen (with laundry appliances), veranda & terrace; adjacent Wakatu Room (doesn't get a direct view but often paired with Haulashore); top-floor Fifeshire Suite with unparalleled view. All have luxurious marble-tiled bathrooms. WIFI is complimentary. Relaxed, affable hosts. Four minutes to town or 4 the other way to the city beach (Tahunanui). Richard speaks German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish. Te Puna Wai's guests are helping keep a special part of NZ early architecture alive & humming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Puna Wai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Puna Wai Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing