We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful blend of homey comfort and elegance”
Review of Te Puna Wai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Ranked #3 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston MA
1 review
“A wonderful blend of homey comfort and elegance”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I found Te Puna Wai in a small B&B guide of New Zealand gems. It sounded beautiful in the book, but still I reserved the rooms knowing that the B&B experience is always a bit of an adventure and a gamble. We we knew right away that we hit the jackpot with Te Puna Wai - one night turned into two, and had we not been on a schedule, it may have been more! My priorities are usually the views and comfort of the rooms, but in this case the most outstanding aspect of our visit was our hosts, Richard and James. Right away they made us feel like family - not in your face, but welcoming and happy to have us there. We (my husband and 21 year old son) had the top floor with a jaw dropping view of the sea and a bathroom and bedding at the quality level of a five star hotel. Our breakfasts were delicious and elegant. We were treated like royalty but also like best friends. We had engaging conversations and got lots of good traveling advice. Usually I like to keep finds like this a secret, but Richard and James and the wonderful suites they have created are so awesome they deserve recognition!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buff111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    14
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
218
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

When my husband and I walked into our room it took our breath away! This beautiful 150 years old house had been magnificently renovated. The attention to detail was evident in the kitchen, bedroom and the bathroom.

One evening we sat out on the porch sipping wine, smelling the wisteria vine and watching a beautiful sunset on the ocean.

Breakfast was elegantly served using a white cloth tablecloth and napkins with classical music softly playing in the background. Our dietary restrictions were closely followed. We were very sad to leave

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animalover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Not only is this the most beautiful place you will ever stay, filled with evocative art, piping lovely music, filled with every book imaginable on New Zealand, but the proprietors are both smart and fun. They gave us personal attention according to our own interests ( we are avid naturalists) but provided every caring touch we could hope for. The flowering wisteria! The breakfast room towering over a majestic sweep of the bay! And walking to great restaurants or a stroll to the peak or along the beach. Magical and wonderful to meet Richard and James. Book here.

Room Tip: Ask for the downstairs. It has a patio garden overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found Te Puna Wai to be a lovely upscale B&B located in a very well updated heritage home. The location and views from the well appointed room and it's charming porch were delightful.
Richard and James were very gracious and attentive hosts, and they provided us with very helpful information, including some "must see" information. We especially appreciated their advice to stop at the "fur seal daycare" at a secluded waterfall, to observe the fur seal pups playing in the pool below. Magical stuff!

Room Tip: The main floor apartment has a fully equipped kitchen with washer and dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,512 reviews
379 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,330 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The top floor in this 1853,three story Victorian Villa,is what you book for the best view in nelson,looking over Tasman Bay,the mountains,the Island (Haulashore) and the harbor.
Art is strewn everywhere on the walls and the bookshelves,well stocked. Comfort is paramount to your hosts Richard & james who delight in shaping your activities and interests. Loved the outsized beds and pillows. Great sleep and fab breakfast.
ps..... sunsets from the top floor are sensational.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'm not sure where to start. It was all amazing. We stayed in the Haulashore Apartment room on the bottom floor, which was beautiful inside and out. It is a lovely large room with comfortable bed, couch, table, en-suite beautiful bathroom, fireplace and a decent-sized kitchen area with everything you'd need, including washer/dryer. There is also a patio (direct access off of the room) with table/chairs and an insane view of the water. The things that make this place special: beautiful furnishings, heated bathroom floors, towel heater, large collection of CDs, books about the area and NZ in general, maps and travel info, an enclosed shower, a few NZ beers in the fridge, lots of tea options (with all of the fixings) and free unlimited wifi (no code required).

Already amazing, right? Now lets talk about the hospitality. Richard and James are so welcoming, and they have a lot of ideas to share about the area including things to see, places to go and where to eat. They helped us work out where/when to catch a water taxi into Abel Tasman, and we may have missed the boat otherwise (ha). We also discovered excellent food and great places for drinks, as well as sights we wouldn't have known of otherwise. They welcomed us our first night with a glass of wine and I really felt like we were guests in a friend's home. They even let us use the bathtub in the upstairs room since no one was staying in that room one night - they didn't have to do that, since now they'd have to clean it again, just to let us have a nice relaxing soak after a day out hiking.

Breakfast was lovely - they cook a hot breakfast (eggs, bacon etc.), and have a lovely selection of cereals/granola with yogurt and fruit, and breads/jams. Breakfast is served at a beautiful table overlooking the water, and is the perfect start to your day.

The location is great - it takes just a few minutes to get into the main town area, only about 20-30 minutes to reach the winery areas, an hour to the main water taxi pickup for Abel Tasman, an hour from the Picton Harbor, and a short walk down the hill to the waterfront restaurant area. The only concern was parking - we were able to park in their driveway since we were the only guests, but there is street parking available (it is a bit of a steep hill with some curves).

I can't wait to travel back to NZ someday and stay with our new friends again. This is one of the most beautiful places we've ever stayed, and we enjoyed our hosts and their lovely city very much. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Upstairs room has a huge bathtub and wall of windows overlooking water, Haulashore Apt on bottom flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really can't say enough good things about Te Puna Wai Lodge, the place is amazing. Richard and James made us feel truly welcome throughout our stay in Nelson. The house has to be seen to be believed, it's impeccably decorated throughout and is in a fantastic spot to explore Nelson from. We wouldn't hesitate in going back to stay again, it really was one of the best B&B experiences that we have had.

Room Tip: The upstairs room that looks out over the ocean is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Jones_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Puna Wai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Puna Wai Lodge

Property: Te Puna Wai Lodge
Address: 24 Richardson Street | Britannia Heights, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Puna Wai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, historic (1857) home - in Nelson's premier location - with a magical view encompassing the harbour entrance and Tasman Bay. In the west 2 mountain ranges contribute to dramatic sunsets. Three elegant rooms: Haulashore Apartment has a designer kitchen (with laundry appliances), veranda & terrace; adjacent Wakatu Room (doesn't get a direct view but often paired with Haulashore); top-floor Fifeshire Suite with unparalleled view. All have luxurious marble-tiled bathrooms. WIFI is complimentary. Relaxed, affable hosts. Four minutes to town or 4 the other way to the city beach (Tahunanui). Richard speaks German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish. Te Puna Wai's guests are helping keep a special part of NZ early architecture alive & humming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Te Puna Wai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Puna Wai Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing