We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Te Puna Wai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Ranked #2 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place is fabulous - James and Richard are wonderful hosts. The breakfast is amazing, the views are beautiful, and the rooms are charming. The town of Nelson is also lovely - there are some lovely dining options, and it has a great feel to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Travel_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    14
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
219
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were impressed with the place .the old house has been done to a high standard.nice rooms and the owners are a friendly helpfull pair who are very friendly and hospitable .room upstairs lovely views no balcony
,bottom floor room has almost as good a view with outside area as well

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked a couple of nights in Nelson to recover from our 24hr trip from the UK, on our way down to other parts of the South Island, and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. Te Puna Wai is a gorgeous colonial-style house in a lovely setting, and Richard and James were superb hosts - the breakfast spread has to be seen to be believed! We stayed up on the top floor and the views across the water were spectacular. We really liked the town of Nelson too, just a short walk over the hill from the Lodge. Highly recommend a trip to Melrose House for lunch or some tea, and the Boat Shed for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Richard & James at Te Puna Wai sure know how to look after their guests. The place is beautiful and so very comfortable and has the most exquisite views over the bay. Travelling in May is great as the days are sunny and warm enough for t shirts. Nights a little colder. So many things to do and see in the surrounding area. Or just relax on the balcony with a Ginger wine on ice! Its a home away from home. A must for anyone visiting the area. A lot nicer to stay here than a normal hotel.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beef64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Celebrating our 42nd wedding anniversary we had the wonderful experience of staying with Richard and James in their beautiful B&B! We stayed four nights, one on the lower floor front that was gorgeous (with a much needed washer & dryer!) and the last three on the top floor with this magnificent view of the water. We felt so at home with these two special men fixing us delicious breakfasts each morning and sharing their love and knowledge of where to go and what to do nearby. It is an easy walk to two of our favorite restaurants there, Boat Shed and Harbor Bistro. This is also a great location to be to explore the Abel Tasman National Park; we kayaked, swam, and hiked all around the area. Also loved visiting the WOW museum of Nelson, all within an easy drive. We loved Richard and James and when we were there, also their dear friend Grant, who also helped us have a great time. We were sad to leave this sweet experience. Thank you so much you guys for also helping us plan the rest of our tour of South Island, all that you told us about was indeed amazing and perfect for us! Would love to return to see you both again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Te Puna Wai Lodge was the most outstanding B&B we have stayed at during our visit to South Island. A beautiful furnished lodge. The top floor bedroom was spacious with a great view over the ocean. Luxurious bathroom . Delicious breakfasts. Thank you Richard and James for making our stay so comfortable, pleasurable and memorable. You are excellent hosts.
Germaine & Peter

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germainev_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

So glad we were able to stay here. The hosts, Richard and James, are lovely people and have thought of everything one might want or need to make your stay a pleasure. They can provide you with a wealth of information and suggestions regarding the area and really make you feel welcome. We stayed on the top floor with a main room that provides a splendid view, an additional smaller side room with double bed that can be used as a dressing room, and an elegant bathroom. The ambience is so pleasant that we didn't feel inspired to see much of Nelson (admittedly this was at the end of 4 weeks of site-seeing in NZ and some strenuous activities). Breakfast was tasty and more inventive than most B&B's. The property is in a pleasant residential area but an easy walk to the water and several good restaurants. Should we return to Nelson, this is where we will hope to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiLeGma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Wakefield Quay House
Wakefield Quay House
#6 of 55 in Nelson
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Puna Wai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Puna Wai Lodge

Property: Te Puna Wai Lodge
Address: 24 Richardson Street | Britannia Heights, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Puna Wai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, historic (1857) home - in Nelson's premier location - with a magical view encompassing the harbour entrance and Tasman Bay. In the west 2 mountain ranges contribute to dramatic sunsets. Three elegant rooms: Haulashore Apartment has a designer kitchen (with laundry appliances), veranda & terrace; adjacent Wakatu Room (doesn't get a direct view but often paired with Haulashore); top-floor Fifeshire Suite with unparalleled view. All have luxurious marble-tiled bathrooms. WIFI is complimentary. Relaxed, affable hosts. Four minutes to town or 4 the other way to the city beach (Tahunanui). Richard speaks German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish. Te Puna Wai's guests are helping keep a special part of NZ early architecture alive & humming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Puna Wai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Puna Wai Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing