We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for all”
Review of Deville

Deville
Ranked #1 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Deville is an indoor outdoor family friendly licensed cafe. Dining style is casual/eclectic using ingredients from the Nelson region. Great representation of local wines and craft beers.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for all”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The place is amazing with large trees and shrubs around the tables. Quessadillas is very good. Pulled pork sandwiches are delicious for some, not so for others I have found. Even meals suitable for 5+ year olds as I found when there with family.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Camera-man123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    53
    6
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“shhh, too good to share ;-)”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hidden behind tall hedges Deville's courtyard is perfectly sheltered from wind and makes most of Nelsons year round sun. Food is delicious, portions generous and well priced. Top marks for atmosphere also. Our absolute favourite for an 'al fresco' start into the weekend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nAndyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“my new favourite cafe”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were actually looking for Deville on the recommendation of a friend (with a map), and still almost missed it... we were glad we didn't! hidden behind a hedge in an industrial area, it is a walled oasis of quirky coolness, yet very family friendly. our food was great, and reasonably priced. The atmosphere was very relaxing, with a choice of seating styles from tables to comfy old couches, and the gate at the front meant we didn't have to worry about our son wondering off.
they are victims of their own success, and on the weekend it can get very busy... so get there early, find a good seat, and relax! it is probably not the place to go if you are in a hurry, or if you are a bit precious about threadbare furniture, but for a relaxing holiday brunch, I have not found better!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebrownehornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Nelson”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Easily the best place to grab food, and have a beer (limited but good selection on tap, remembering its not a pub) or coffe in Nelson, great friendly staff and kid friendly too..

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank huwioah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Nelson”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Lovely fresh tasty meals, plenty of variety, in lovely relaxed setting with very friendly servoce.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wineluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deville also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Deville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing