We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our 10 days in New Zealand!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Great Hotel. Was just redone and it shows. The room and bathroom were immaculate, and the bed was very comfortable. Exactly what we needed after a long day hiking. Easy walking distance into town, and beautiful view from the room. We wished we had stayed longer than one night!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank sbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 390 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

Making our way to NZ west coast track we stayed one night at the Rutherford Nelson.

After one disappointment with another local chain, we were delightfully surprised with our pick of the Rutherford Nelson.

Check-in was quick and efficient. Young Matt is a exactly what hospitality is all about - eager to serve, knowledgeable, professional and genuinely courteous.

Our room was a little small but still comfortable with a modern (though very small) bathroom that had a full window to the ocean.

The gym had a good mix of cardio, free weights and multi machines.

Full breakfast was very good. What made my day, though, was that they freshly squeeze for me orange juice. In no other hotel in NZ did I receive freshly squeeze orange juice (quite strange). Hail to the Rutherford Nelson.

Parking here was free and abundant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelguyNYC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The Rutherford is an excellent hotel, the 70's style ceases at the entrance when you are greeted with friendly professional staff and a real hotel feel. The room was a two bed affair with a view which for the price and position was fantastic as was the breakfast the next morning. Single word description "faultless".

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonKiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

A surprisingly good hotel. Yes, it is a bit old fashioned but the rooms were very clean, quiet and comfortable and the bathrooms had been upgraded and were light and bright. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay until it came to breakfast. Inedible scrambled eggs, no fresh fruit, stale muffins. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RutherfordHotelGM, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Dear diggaa,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I would like to offer my apologies for your recent experience at breakfast. I have spoken to the team in the kitchen about it as your experience was not up to our usual high standards. I’m happy to hear that otherwise you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back to Rutherford Hotel Nelson again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bevan McGillicuddy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I stayed here for a conference In September and was very impressed with both the service and the establishment. The rooms were spacious and clean, and for once I didn't seem to notice any undue noise which kept me awake (have had this problem a lot when staying at hotels). Being able to have a bath was also great. Staff were friendly and smiling. Location was handy to shops and eateries as well, and we had a really nice meal at the hotel's japanese restaurant. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarnsdubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Rutherford Hotel offered us a welcome rest after an early ferry crossing from north to south and then the drive across to Nelson from Picton.

The hotel is in an excellent location, right on the outskirts of town and next door to a lovely park, it is also just a 50 minute drive to the Abel Tasman National Park. We found it slightly difficult to actually get to the hotel, but maybe that was just our map reading skills!!!! When you get to the hotel there is plenty of free parking.

Check in was easy and straight forward as you would expect from a big hotel chain such as this.

Our room was lovely, we had two massive double beds, the bathroom was large, fresh and clean as was our bedroom. The bedroom was tastefully decorated with all the mod cons needed to make your stay very pleasurable.

We used the laundry service in the hotel, which is cheap ,effective and very easy to use.

We stayed for two nights and on both mornings we had a super breakfast which filled us up for the day. All in all whilst not cheap this hotel does offer the luxury you sometimes need.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandDinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at this amazing hotel for a couple of nights as part of our trip to New Zealand.. It was the best hotel we stayed at on our trip. The receptionist was very friendly and accomodating, and the Japanese restaurant gave an authentic teppanyaki experience. The room was modern and quiet - I'm not sure what the review about the club below is about! I couldn't recommend this strongly enough and will definatley stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferretface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
3.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutherford Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Address: 27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $153 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing