We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baywick Inn
Nearby Hotels
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$96
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$155
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$122
$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warwick House(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$84
$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joya Garden & Villa Studios(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$99
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$87
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
172
24
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
24
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrittatawonderful hoststim janetnew zealandfresh fruittoasted muesliquiet streetthe main houselovely victoriansouth islandeasy minute walkthree roomseach morningbreakfast tableother guestsbreakfasts were greathot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 199 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Janet and atrium made my stay wonderful and comfortable.
The room was spacious and very quiet with a great view of the park
I love the location as its easy to walk to downtown and restaurants with interesting things to see along the way.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were beautiful and spacious
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheryl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JESTGB, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We too think that the short walk into town is interesting. Thanks again, Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We originally booked to stay at the Baywick Inn for 4 nights but finished up staying for over a week as it was so good.
The location of Baywick is absolutely perfect - so peaceful and quiet yet a very short, safe, easy, flat stroll to town. This was one of the reasons we chose to stay here as we wanted to be within easy walking distance of town.
Tim and Janet are so kind and hospitable. Absolutely nothing is a problem to them and are full of local knowledge and information. They will gladly book tours, restaurants, trips etc for you and supply you with good advice.
Our stay at Baywick was absolutely perfect and we were very sad to leave . We can thoroughly recommend a stay here - you will not be disappointed.

PS Janet's breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank der321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It is so nice when guests stay a few days longer as we really feel that when you leave it is saying good bye to dear friends. I hope you had a wonderful"Noel" and that we will see you again one day soon, Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Frankly, I've never felt as at home in a B&B, ever. The rooms a spacious, inviting, and comfortable. The place is reasonably well located, a short walk to downtown. But Janet and Tim made the trip. We ended the night having tea with Janet in her kitchen. When Janet found out we were doing a multi-day hike in Abel Tasman, she made us food to take along for the hike. About as good as it can be. Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexM3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your review, we too felt right at home with you in our kitchen. I hope that your hike in the park was great and that you had ' no problems' with making your connections to get home. My only other comment is, "stay longer next time"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

One night is too less staying with such a nice place! I love the decoration in the historic house! The home stay owners are very hospitable and helpful! Without their kind advise, we'll miss the Museum and the nice restaurant! Thank you so much Janet&Tim!
The best breakfast served as your required time. I would like to highly recommend this place! Tips for the traveller: please advise your check-in time in advance and update to the owner if you have any change because the hotel is running by the couple themselves.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, Tim and I enjoyed having you all here. As you were some of the first Chinese guests we have had, we really enjoyed your input and we found chatting to you was very interesting and enjoyable. I hope that you will again tour NZ. Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Parkdale room for seven days in February, and could not have been more pleased. We wished we could have stayed longer! The location, overlooking the river, was wonderful, and an easy walk to downtown. Abel Tasman Park was a delight, the sea kayak adventure Janet and Tim booked for us was exciting, and the cultural attractions (concerts, first rate dining, museum and the delightful Saturday outdoor market) were all first rate. Great walks through town and up to the "Centre of New Zealand". Breakfasts were delicious, with lots of local fresh fruit. Janet recommended the WOW museum, which really WAS a WOW. Totally clean and comfortable (my wife LOVED the clawfoot tub), a wonderfully restored older home. Janet and Tim even made sure we were supplied with bug repellent and blanket for our trip to the Pelarus Bridge beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, it is so nice when guests have the time to stay longer than just a couple of nights. It is easy to use Nelson as a base to see the 'top of the South' as you did. It also allows us to really get to know our guests and it is like saying good by to good friends when you left, hope to see you both again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews