We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Nelson”
Review of Baywick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baywick Inn
Ranked #10 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

One night is too less staying with such a nice place! I love the decoration in the historic house! The home stay owners are very hospitable and helpful! Without their kind advise, we'll miss the Museum and the nice restaurant! Thank you so much Janet&Tim!
The best breakfast served as your required time. I would like to highly recommend this place! Tips for the traveller: please advise your check-in time in advance and update to the owner if you have any change because the hotel is running by the couple themselves.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, Tim and I enjoyed having you all here. As you were some of the first Chinese guests we have had, we really enjoyed your input and we found chatting to you was very interesting and enjoyable. I hope that you will again tour NZ. Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Baywick Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 193 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Parkdale room for seven days in February, and could not have been more pleased. We wished we could have stayed longer! The location, overlooking the river, was wonderful, and an easy walk to downtown. Abel Tasman Park was a delight, the sea kayak adventure Janet and Tim booked for us was exciting, and the cultural attractions (concerts, first rate dining, museum and the delightful Saturday outdoor market) were all first rate. Great walks through town and up to the "Centre of New Zealand". Breakfasts were delicious, with lots of local fresh fruit. Janet recommended the WOW museum, which really WAS a WOW. Totally clean and comfortable (my wife LOVED the clawfoot tub), a wonderfully restored older home. Janet and Tim even made sure we were supplied with bug repellent and blanket for our trip to the Pelarus Bridge beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, it is so nice when guests have the time to stay longer than just a couple of nights. It is easy to use Nelson as a base to see the 'top of the South' as you did. It also allows us to really get to know our guests and it is like saying good by to good friends when you left, hope to see you both again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My spouse and I stayed in the Parkdale Room for 3 nights in early Autumn, 2013. We were charmed by the attention to detail throughout the historic house. The bed was very comfortable. Coffee and tea were available 24/7. The location is perfect, with a bubbling brook stream adjacent to the property, which is an easy walk to downtown. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful -- going out of their way to share info about the hidden gems of the area. In the parlor was a good supply of tourist activity brochures, and a netbook for guest use. A full breakfast each morning at our requested time added to the pleasure.

Room Tip: Parkdale Room faces a wooded hill, and has a sunroom. The other rooms are lovely and spacious, too...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. The Parkdale room is certainly the room to choose for fall/ winter as it gets all day sun. The wooded hill is the geological centre of New Zealand, so the view is pretty special, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights during Easter 2012, having arrived tired and travel-weary towards the end of a 3 month trip around the world. Janet and Tim gave us a wonderful welcome - my wife had broken her wrist earlier in our trip and before we had even checked in, Tim successfully repaired her damaged wrist splint! Janet took pity on us and washed and dried 2 enormous loads of laundry.
The house has been lovingly and tastefully restored, with comfortable bedrooms and the most delicious breakfasts, which varied each morning we were there. The large dining room and sitting room were always available for guests during the day, and there was plenty of interesting reading material for those with time on their hands.
On Easter Sunday evening, when the most of the restaurants were closed Janet provided a delicious platter of meats and cheeses from the local market. It was extremely tasty, beautifully served and at a very fair price.
We loved this place, its comfort and the host's warm hospitality. The Baywick Inn rates as one of the best places we stayed in during our 3 month trip. Janet and Tim please forgive us for not posting this review sooner!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aldman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Hi, well it is nice to know that a year down the road that we are in your thoughts and have helped make your holiday one to remember. Trust all is well with your wife's wrist, and we hope that one day you will return to our wonderful corner of the world. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I, in addition to another couple who were traveling with us, spent two nights at Baywick Inn. The location was within easy walking distance of the town center, the rooms were very comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. Janet and Tim had great suggestions for what to do in the local area and were welcoming and friendly. If we were lucky enough to be in Nelson again, we'd stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolJ242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Tim and I are also glad you made the choice to stay with us and we both hope that you all will return to Nelson one day, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

An amazingly well restored Victorian house with delightful hosts and great charm. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully done. Janet and Tim are full of helpful information, the food is wonderful, and the location is close to the city center. We stayed here two nights and this place is on our list of the top five places we stayed during our six weeks traveling throughout the South Island. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitkinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that we are included in your 'top 5' B&B's. Hope to see you again one day, Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Janet and Tim, the owner-operators of this cosy B&B have perfected the art of making you welcome, and taking good care of you. Their renovated Victorian house, plus their added, newer 'out buildings' are all done in the best taste, and are cozy and welcoming. Janet's breakfasts are simply amazing, with a 'daily special' not to be missed. She and Tim are fountains of information on local sights as well as attractions further afield. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit with them, and recommend them, and Baywick Inn, unreservedly.

Room Tip: If you prefer an older, Victorian air, albeit with all modern conveniences, choose a room in the ori...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parksims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Tim and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we both hope that you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#9 of 41 in Nelson
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywick Inn

Address: 51 Domett Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $110 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baywick Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly restored, elegant and luxurious, yet affordable accommodation located in a quiet garden setting along the Maitai River in downtown Nelson city. This 1885 Victorian B&B offers 3 enchanting rooms, genuine Kiwi/Canadian hospitality and fabulous gourmet breakfasts. Canadian Chef, Janet Southwick ensures that breakfasts are always a treat with blueberry baked French toast, specialty omelettes and frittatas. With the addition of the new Victorian cottage in the Brookside garden we now offer 2 queen luxury suites, or the cottage can be rented as a 1 or 2 bedroom self contained apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Baywick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing