We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baywick Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
172
24
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
24
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrittatab bwonderful hoststim janetnew zealandfresh fruittoasted muesliquiet streetthe main houselovely victoriansouth islandeasy minute walkthree roomseach morningbreakfast tableother guestsbreakfasts were great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 199 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is now on our shortlist (four) of the very best places we have stayed on our visits to New Zealand. The reason, of course, is the hosts. Janet and Tim (not to mention Jazz and Mombassie, the wire-haired fox terriers) are just terrific – friendly, informative, generous and caring, always there when you need some advice. When we were heading off to the Nelson wineries, Janet tipped us off that we could take a picnic to the most famous, Neudorf, and promptly dug out plates, cutlery and a coldbag for us so that we had a perfect afternoon.

And she is some cook. After a perfect bowl of fruit at breakfast, you got an imaginative hot dish every day with eggs benedict narrowly beating the frittata as my favourite out of the four days we stayed. But all four breakfasts were top-notch.

So was our room in the new cottage at the bottom of the garden by the stream. Well designed with lots of thoughtful touches and a wonderfully comfortable bed, it had its own private courtyard where we sat out with a glass of wine at the end of each day and thought how lucky we were to be staying somewhere like this with people as kindly and welcoming as Janet and Tim.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, they are greatly appreciated. I am glad that after 15 years in the business that we have not lost any of our enthusiasm for the job. It is guests like yourselves who make our job so rewarding and fun, hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

In our 5 trips to NZ we have travelled extensively and stayed in many very good guesthouses. In our opinion the Baywick Inn is far and away the best. Top class accommodation, fabulous catering , and wonderful hosts - Janet, Tim, Mombozzie and Jazz (both wirehaired fox terriers). (If you are very well, behaved guests you may get to meet them or even take one for a walk).
Janet and Tim are both very personable and informative and go out of their way to be helpful in any way they can. The location is ideal - quiet next to park and river - but only a short walk to the centre Of Nelson.
Cannot rate highly enough - 5 stars plus.
(PS - don't tell anyone else - we want ot go back there ourselves one day!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review, Tim and I loved having you both here for the week and it was like saying good bye to old friends... Jazz says woof ( thank you ) for the walk to the centre of New Zealand. Hope to see you again,Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This may sound like a very strong statement of evaluation to make but, given the fact that we have been to New Zealand twice and stayed at countless B&B's all over both Islands, I feel justified in saying that the Baywick is absolutely perfect for so many reasons and here are just a few:
First and formost, they may be the only B&B to have inported screened windows in the "Tree House" rooms. This may not seem like a big deal if you don't mind going on "safari" every night to try to kill moths, crane flies and mosquitos, but it IS a big deal to anyone who has screens on their windows from the US. At another place we stayed at, they gave us a fly swatter and said, "Good Luck."

Now let's go on to breakfast:
Janet is a true gourmet cook who never serves anything just plain unless, of course you want it that way. Personally, I found the blueberry french toast and eggs benidict to die for. How about fresh fruit and berries every morning with hand blended Musli that has been lightly toasted to bring out the flavor ... hungry yet? The list goes on and on and all this delight is served up by the friendliest and most genuinely kind and caring people you will ever find. All this comes with the room at no extra charge as I found in several other places.

Janet and Tim will give you suggestions of what to see, map out everything you want to do and how to get there. They will make reservations for you and see to your every need. You don't have to do anything but have a good time .... perfect!

Have I mentioned the fabulously comfortable beds with "high end" linen on them and the fluffy towels (not line dried and stiff) and cookies and tea in your room every night? All this is within a 10 minute walk to town and all the craft shops and eateries so you can save gas and just walk through "Queen's Garden" to town for a great day. At the end of the day, you will get lulled to sleep by the sound of the river passing by. This is sheer heaven!

The location of the B&B is a perfect "base" from which to see just about everything in the area. We stayed there for 10 days and will return every year we are able.

You don't have to look any farther becaues you have already found the best place. If there were another star I could give this B&B, I would certainly do that too, so stop looking and enjoy!

Bob & Susan
Olympia, Washington USA

Room Tip: We loved the "Tree house room at the top of the stairs in the new cottage behind the big victorian. It had a balcony, complete with umbrella and a view of the river. There was a brand new soaking tub to help soothe your aching muscles from kayaking all day. This room has a huge "Dressing Room" with tons of drawers and hanging area so you can actuall UNPACK ans stop digging through your suitcase.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your very kind and positive review. I love your description of the Brookview room as being in a 'tree house' as were worked very hard to make sure we saved the old historic trees and built this new cottage around them. It is so nice when guests use Nelson as a base and stay with us for more than a few nights as it allows us to really get to know people and when they leave it is like saying good bye to 'old friends'. We look forward to a return visit, Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for three days in the Green Room in this lovely, wooden house located in a lush garden. The atmosphere is very familiar and relaxed, the hosts most kind and service minded. They gave a lot of local information which made the days in Nelson much more convenient. All days the breakfast was excellent. The Green room is upstairs and (the only one?) without any balcony, else it is just lovely, a glimpse of an old fashioned style that nowdays is rare to find. The bed was large (king size) and soft, I suppose just perfect for most people, for me slightly to soft.

Downstairs is another lovely, old fashioned room for common usage and a tiny veranda with some chairs. Outside, just by the small creek, is some seats and tables in a most lush part of the garden, a nice place to take a glass wine in the shadow beneath the threes.

For anyone but disabled or with small kids the Baywick Inn is a friendly, high class B&B in an old fashioned style, well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torbjorn_sunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed the garden, as many of our guests just don't seem to find the time for that glass of wine there. So that we don't mislead anybody,I would like to point out that all our rooms have queen beds, not king. Also I think something might have been lost in the Swedish translation as we do not consider our B&B to be 'old fashioned', we have tried to keep it 'historic' but with all the modern conveniences including the high speed free internet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This B&B in Nelson is on a quiet street, in a lovely setting; and is a short walk into town. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean and the breakfast exceptional. This is reason enough to stay at the Baywick Inn, however, we found the best part of our stay to be the owners. Extremely gracious and helpful, Janet and Tim made us feel comfortable right away. I would highly recommend the Baywick and wish we could have stayed an extra day or two.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sand1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. It is guests like you that make our job so fun and rewarding, hope to see you again, Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews