We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, familiar and stylish”
Review of Baywick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baywick Inn
Ranked #10 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy, familiar and stylish”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for three days in the Green Room in this lovely, wooden house located in a lush garden. The atmosphere is very familiar and relaxed, the hosts most kind and service minded. They gave a lot of local information which made the days in Nelson much more convenient. All days the breakfast was excellent. The Green room is upstairs and (the only one?) without any balcony, else it is just lovely, a glimpse of an old fashioned style that nowdays is rare to find. The bed was large (king size) and soft, I suppose just perfect for most people, for me slightly to soft.

Downstairs is another lovely, old fashioned room for common usage and a tiny veranda with some chairs. Outside, just by the small creek, is some seats and tables in a most lush part of the garden, a nice place to take a glass wine in the shadow beneath the threes.

For anyone but disabled or with small kids the Baywick Inn is a friendly, high class B&B in an old fashioned style, well worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torbjorn_sunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed the garden, as many of our guests just don't seem to find the time for that glass of wine there. So that we don't mislead anybody,I would like to point out that all our rooms have queen beds, not king. Also I think something might have been lost in the Swedish translation as we do not consider our B&B to be 'old fashioned', we have tried to keep it 'historic' but with all the modern conveniences including the high speed free internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
134
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This B&B in Nelson is on a quiet street, in a lovely setting; and is a short walk into town. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean and the breakfast exceptional. This is reason enough to stay at the Baywick Inn, however, we found the best part of our stay to be the owners. Extremely gracious and helpful, Janet and Tim made us feel comfortable right away. I would highly recommend the Baywick and wish we could have stayed an extra day or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sand1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. It is guests like you that make our job so fun and rewarding, hope to see you again, Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at Baywick Inn in the Greenwood room. The room was well decorated and comfortable. As stated the bathroom is just outside the room, which didn't bother us. The bathroom is very small so if you are picky about bathrooms I would choose another room. We were able to look at a few other rooms and they all looked wonderful.

Tim and Janet are wonderful hosts. They have lots of knowledge about Nelson and the surrounding area. Janet does a wonderful job with breakfast as well. The inn is just across the street from a stream, unfortunately due to rain we didn't get to see the eels. If you are looking for a quiet place with friendly hosts while in Nelson, Baywick Inn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Yes the bathroom is small, (originally installed in 1909 and we did not have the heart to change the layout) and would not suit all guests. For this reason we made this our 'value' room as you still have the use of the guest living room, complimentary port and sherry, gourmet breakfasts, free WIFI and all other amenities offered to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

lovely hosts, beautiful house and rooms, very clean and quiet, incredibly tasty breakfast, all in all, it could not be any better. what a pitty, that we could not stay longer. but we'll definitely be back another day!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchn1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Tim and I look forward to your return, hopefully a little longer next time, Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We - my husband and I - recently stayed at this beautiful B&B when visiting Nelson. The room/ensuite we stayed in was beautifully decorated and it was cosy as well as clean. Janet and Tim are very kind and helpful and the service is excellent. The breakfast was amazing - great variety. We highly recommend this place - a B&B with style, excellent service and a great atmosphere. Thank you for making our stay special!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are so lucky to be in this industry and meet such wonderful and interesting guests, hope to see you again, Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Four nights with our pleasant hosts in this small (5 room) B&B allowed for a wonderful introduction to the Nelson area. Janet's breakfasts are indeed yummy, the facility welcoming, but especially helpful are Tim's and Janet's knowledge of the south island, and their willingness to offer suggestions on how to best spend days exploring the area. (We are B&B fans, my wife and I, and on this trip our 19-year-old daughter, counting this as one of the most memorable overall bases for gaining an appreciation of a new area.)

Room Tip: We stayed in a large room (Burnside), easily handling three people; comfortable queen and a daybed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review, Tim and I both find the best part of the job is helping guests decide what to do and what to see, it is a pleasure to assist all our guests. Hope to see you again one day, Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We found this house in a quite spot by the river within 5-10 minutes walk to town. So handy to Cathedral, pub, shops etc. The house is a beautifully restored villa, with superb rooms, with tasteful decor, comfy beds, and the owners are a treat!@! They are so friendly, with Tim it is his great sense of humour, and Sue it is her converstaion and cooking her gourmet breakfasts.
There is everything here to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one.
The only down side to this venue, is the 4pm check-in. If you need an earlier one they will oblige if you contact them.
I would hope that we return to Nelson, - I love the place so I am sure that I will return, and would hope to stay at Baywick Inn once again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Tim and I both hope that you return one day. If guests need an early check in, a quick email is all we need. Thanks again, Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shelbourne Villa
Shelbourne Villa
#8 of 55 in Nelson
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywick Inn

Property: Baywick Inn
Address: 51 Domett Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baywick Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly restored, elegant and luxurious, yet affordable accommodation located in a quiet garden setting along the Maitai River in downtown Nelson city. This 1885 Victorian B&B offers 3 enchanting rooms, genuine Kiwi/Canadian hospitality and fabulous gourmet breakfasts. Canadian Chef, Janet Southwick ensures that breakfasts are always a treat with blueberry baked French toast, specialty omelettes and frittatas. With the addition of the new Victorian cottage in the Brookside garden we now offer 2 queen luxury suites, or the cottage can be rented as a 1 or 2 bedroom self contained apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Baywick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing