We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice B&B in Nelson” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baywick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baywick Inn
Ranked #11 of 59 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B in Nelson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on our honeymoon in NZ. A very nice home, with beautiful gardens and comfortable rooms throughout.

We stayed in the 'Greenwood' room which is the most affordable. The room was comfortable with plenty of room to relax. The private bathroom is cosy and quirky, but more than adequate.

The breakfast served up by host Janet was simply yum - with fresh fruit, yogurt, home toasted muesli, and ham and cheese omelettes. Janet was also extremely accommodating with our late change of plans, as we arrived and departed one day earlier than originally planned.

All in all a very nice stay with friendly hosts, full of local info and suggestions, but the breakfast was the standout.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparksau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Glad you really enjoyed the breakfasts, it is one of my favourite times of the day in the B&B. I loved the fact that you called the bathroom 'quirky', it is small and compact, but it is nice that we were able to restore the original 'water closet' from 1885.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
131
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Baywick Inn for 2 nights in September when I was touring the South Island and was given a very warm welcome. The ensuite room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were amazing with fresh fruit salad, freshly prepared orange juice, home-made muesli and then a cooked to order main course. The owners were very friendly and I felt at home straight away. Janet, the joint-owner, helped me find a company doing a vineyard tour as the company I had found wouldn't accept my booking until they knew they had other people wantng to go but I needed to arrange something before I left the UK. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marrge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JESTGB, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you, glad we could be of service and that you enjoyed the wine tour we organised for you, Nelson does have some great wineries. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our tour of NZ. Lovely accommodation within easy walk of town. Tim and Janet were very friendly and helpful with suggestions for restaurants (Boat Shed Cafe and Sprig and Fern Pub) and tour options. Fantastic breakfasts which set us up for the day - did not need to eat at lunchtime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JESTGB, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. We are pleased you liked our suggestions and breakfasts, hope you will visit again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days at the Baywick Inn, a small and charming B&B. It is conviently located for an easy walk into town to visit Nelson's wonderful shops, restaurants, and historical sites. Our hosts, Janet and Tim were exceptionally kind and helpful. They recommended several outstanding places we needed to experience which were indeed terrific. The breakfasts were simply outstanding. We cannot give a higher recommendation. Great experience, wonderful accommodations!
Rich and Marcia
Tucson, AZ

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you both for the great review, glad you all had a good experience here.Hope to see you again in the future, and enjoy your 'coffee' tea towel. Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Baywick Inn is by far one of the best experiences I have ever had. The owners were warm and friendly, full of information, delicious food, and just incredibly accomodating and helpful. The inn was located just a short walk to the city center, and we got some excellent restaurant recommendations. Stay at least a couple nights if you can!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelGirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JESTGB, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you both for the great review, hope you are enjoying your sunny weather, wish we were there, thanks again and hope to see you again, Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you are wanting to have a great B&B splurge while in Nelson this is the place. We had the Brooksview suite and it was just great. Lovely soaker tub, quite balcony overlooking the stream and garden was very special - great to sit out there and do some reading during the day to. The breakfast by Joan were all very tasty and filling, loved the homemade museli with fruit and yogert. We even took one of the dogs for a walk to the center of NZ which is a close by hike. Both Joan and Tim are great hosts and very welcoming, they had great suggestions for us to do and see. All the special touches made this a memorable stay and we would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We enjoyed your company and glad you liked taking the dog for the walk to the 'centre of New Zealand', I know she loved it. Thanks again, J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Baywick Inn is a 1885 Victorian Bed and Breakfast, located along the side of the Maitari River about 10 to 15mins walk into the centre of Nelson town which is full of many attractions and shops. Stayed at this resort for 6 days. The hospitality of the owners Janet and Tim was excellent where nothing was to much trouble and the breakfast was excellent.
The Baywick Inn had been tastefully restored and furnished to the period of the property. The rooms were clean and the linen was changed on a regular basis. There was free WiFi in the rooms or down stairs in the sitting room.
It was only a short drive to many restaurants and cafe's as well as the quay side and beach areas. With a car it was only a short drive to Wineries, Parks and other small interesting towns/villages.
Excellent value would stay there again if in the area or Nelson.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiskey176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaywickInn, Owner at Baywick Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Nelson is a great town and area to explore and 6 days gave you a leisurely amount of time to see most of the region. Tim and I try very hard to make sure your holiday experience is a pleasant one and we appreciate the fact you liked the age and history of the B&B. 'Robin' Bear is doing fine and one day we hope to explore your area as you made it sound wonderful, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
3.1 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywick Inn

Property: Baywick Inn
Address: 51 Domett Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baywick Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly restored, elegant and luxurious, yet affordable accommodation located in a quiet garden setting along the Maitai River in downtown Nelson city. This 1885 Victorian B&B offers 3 enchanting rooms, genuine Kiwi/Canadian hospitality and fabulous gourmet breakfasts. Canadian Chef, Janet Southwick ensures that breakfasts are always a treat with blueberry baked French toast, specialty omelettes and frittatas. With the addition of the new Victorian cottage in the Brookside garden we now offer 2 queen luxury suites, or the cottage can be rented as a 1 or 2 bedroom self contained apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Baywick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing