We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good for non smokers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Fountain Resort Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ASURE Fountain Resort Motel
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not good for non smokers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

While the location is good in terms of distance to the airport and beach, the downside is that you are under the flight path of the runway approach. Luckily, the jets are small ones and aren't too noisy.

We stayed in a two bedroom unit (unit 1), which was clean, neat and tidy. In fact, the beds were were very comfortable - medium firmness. I'm always nervous when the only soap they provide is on the wall in an industrial style dispenser, but this seems common enough in NZ.

The real downside though is that although there is no smoking inside the units, the owners have set up little alfresco tables at the front of each unit with two chairs and an ashtray. This promotes smokers to congregate out the front, and the smoke simply drifts into the other units.
This is especially problematic as to get ventilation into each unit you have to open the windows to create a cross breeze.

If you are a smoker then this is probably an advantage, but to us, all it meant was a rush to close the windows when the smokers lit up, only to have a unit that stunk for 15 minutes like an ashtray from the smoke that managed to creep in. Sadly, the people in the unit next to us were chain smokers, so for much of the time we were trapped.

Families should note a bonus is the expansive playground with a flying fox - a throw back to an era when public liability didn't cause places to rip out any potential injury causing device.

We were given a 100mb internet pass each day (Zenbu wireless) which was a little misleading as the advertising said 'free wi-fi'. I guess they didn't say how much - so that's a tip to remember when booking anywhere.

Our unit was not serviced between days, but to be fair, it was Christmas Day.

All in all, we would not stay here again due to the smoking arrangement, but it did the job.

Room Tip: Remember to ask how much internet usage is included in the 'free internet'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveM0572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgaireS, Owner at ASURE Fountain Resort Motel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you Steve for staying at our property and taking the time to review it.
I am sorry the smoker in the next unit did not consider you and the fact there are open windows in summer and smoke can drift. We do have ceiling fans in all our units and whilst this does not solve the problem it may help move the air around and all rooms in the units have opening windows.
Unfortunately the beach suburb of Tahunanui has an airport located at the southern end. Luckily we do not have jets coming in, they are all prop planes. Our motel is not located directly under the flight path, trust me, there are a few that are! With our beautiful beach goes an airport and I hope we never get jets!!
We do apologise for not servicing your unit on Christmas Day, it is the only day of the year we dont so as not to interfere with families christmas celebrations but you should have been told on check in and we may have overlooked that.
Regarding the internet, we do have a daily limit (will try to ensure this is advertised) however we are more than happy to give a little more if you ask.
Kind regards
Ngaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Notts,England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August on our NZ tour , as we were getting into the Asure loyalty programme. This motel was well up to expectations, and we weren't even disturbed on the second night when several girl's sports teams stayed. It is family friendly, with a pool and kid's play area, although we didn't need this. Parking was available right outside the unit; and Ngaire and her husband were very helpful and informative. It's not often you get an email from 13000 miles away to check you got home ok and enjoyed your stay. Would certainly recommend the Fountain Resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgaireS, Owner at ASURE Fountain Resort Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hi and thank you for your review. Pleased you enjoyed staying with us. We always hope that guests, especially those who travel so far to visit NZ, experience a great time and see at much as time allows. Many thanks for staying with us. Kind regards, Ngaire and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We wanted a motel close to the airport with a comfy bed and nice shower and tv to watch the all blacks beat australia!! This motel provided all those things with fabulous hosts who even drove us to the airport at 7am to save us getting a taxi, Thanks heaps!!-plus a nice takeaway within walking distance for a fish supper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarkworthSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgaireS, Owner at ASURE Fountain Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Appreciate your nice comments, thanks for taking the time to post a review. Very pleased you liked the motel and the takeaway dinner! Kind regards. Ngaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

this motel was advertised on wotif as being pet friendly however on arrival I was told this is no longer the case. They did however accept us and our small dog and the room was clean and comfortable and the bed good. It had recently been renovated. The management were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgaireS, Owner at ASURE Fountain Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks Clare for writing your review of the property. We are sorry you were mislead with info on pet-friendlyness. However I will continue to try to get that corrected by Wotif and any others that have not removed it. Unfortunately not all dog owners are as considerate as yourselves, so thank you for that. Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Ngaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my husband, had a wonderful,comfortable stay. Friends of ours with two children also stayed at the same time and the children loved the play area which was situated close enough for them to play but far enough away not to disturb other people. Great location with places to eat, easy access to the highway to go to Nelson, Abel Tasman and Rabbit Island. Great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgaireS, Owner at ASURE Fountain Resort Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you Katherine for taking the time to write your review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and overall experience of Nelson.
Kind regards, Ngaire (Owner/Operator)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cabannes, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Been travelling for couple of weeks when we arrived at Asure Fountain Resort Motel so were more than happy with the beautiful room, super bathroom, kitchen facilities. Lovely, comfortable beds, place to sit outside the room for a drink. Nice little pool, helpful and friendly hosts. Centrally located. All good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferCashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgaireS, Owner at ASURE Fountain Resort Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Jennifer, very pleased to hear you needed a good place to relax and rest. Nelson can provide just that, all year round and we're glad our motel met your expectations!. Pleasure to have your family stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write your review, much appreciated.
Kind regards, Ngaire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and our studio was large, spotless and well appointed. A great location close to the beautiful beach and easy access to the city centre.
I cannot speak highly enough of Ngaire, the proprietor. She absolutely came up trumps in dealing with an emergency situation and my NZ experience was enriched from meeting her and her husband Tony. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_Masson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NgaireS, Owner at ASURE Fountain Resort Motel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you Anne-Marie for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure having you and Michael to stay and I'm glad you enjoyed staying at the property and our location.
Wonderful guests like yourselves helping out others in distress is every good reason to encourage us to get involved and assist as well and I thank you sincerely for your caring.
Kind regards, Ngaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#33 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#29 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arcadia Motel
Arcadia Motel
#12 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Fountain Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Fountain Resort Motel

Property: ASURE Fountain Resort Motel
Address: 77 Green Street | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ASURE Fountain Resort Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Fountain Resort Motel is 4 star ASURE Quality Rated in beachside suburb, quietly located away from main roads. Close to all amenities, beach, cafes, airport, golf course, 5km to CBD, 1.25 hrs to Abel Tasman National Park. Family holidays a specialty with huge, safe playground with flying fox, play equipment, swimming pool, conference/games room. Popular with corporates, very central location. All units ground floor, spacious & sunny with parking at door or undercover available. ASURE Loyalty Programme available. Quality at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your ASURE Fountain Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing