We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish & chips in Nelson.”

Milton Street Fish & Chip Cafe
Ranked #89 of 177 Restaurants in Nelson
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips in Nelson.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Best fish and chips and special gourmet burgers in Nelson by far and so nice to be able to have them delivered to the Sprig & Fern right next door and enjoy them with a craft beer or berry cider (my favourite). Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, BC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Good Combo With Sprig & Fern”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Despite reading some negative reviews, we tried Milton Street Fish & Chips last night. We had fish and chips, which were quite edible but certainly not the best I have eaten. They do offer baked fish for those who don't want their fish deep-fried. The truly great thing about this place is that they will deliver your food to the Sprig & Fern pub next door. So we settled down on the patio at the Sprig and Fern with a pint while we waited for our food, which was delivered quickly by helpful staff. We will likely try this combo again, but perhaps with a pizza or burger instead of the fish and chips.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy_Two_Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small fish portions”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The fish and chips were good, but the fish portions were very small, one being so small that we searched for the other 1/2 to no avail!

Helpful?
Thank SusanPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best and great fast service.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Try the Cajun fish burger. It is amazing chased with Tasman Lager from the Sprig next door. The fish is great, fresh and we have never had small pieces like others have had.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joste_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What can I say.
First of all the price. $4.10 for a piece of fish either crumbed or battered. Not a large piece either but small awful pieces.
Also $4.00 for a scoop of chips SO we spend $12.20 for 2 fish and a scoop of chips. Waste of money!!
In our town we have a fantastic takeaways that gives you large pieces of fish and generous scoops with large cut chips. Guess I was excepting to much from the “raved over” takeaway.

Also the chips were overdone and I think they forgot the battered fish so our order had to wait while this piece of fish was cooked therefore ruining the chips as they sat on the bench.

Looking at the other items (burgers/pizzas) on the menu they too were overpriced for what they offered.

Honestly go elsewhere, ignore the write-ups and have a proper feed of fish & chips.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milton Street Fish & Chip Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Milton Street Fish & Chip Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing