We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience all round”
Review of Gourmet Sailing

Gourmet Sailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer private yacht charters around the stunning Abel Tasman National Park in the South Island of New Zealand, with comfortable on-board accommodation for overnight trips. Experience unparalleled service and exceptional cuisine.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb experience all round”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

A tremendous day out on the Harbour around Nelson with fabulous hosts Milo and Kimberly. The food and service was sublime and the ship is a beauty.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank SianEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Serenity and Sailing”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I, brother and sister in law had a week with Milo and Kimberley sailing through the Marlborough Sounds. The weather was inclement however the company was great and the food amazing, wine supplies were excellent too. We fell in love with this beautiful part of the world and it was a delight to meet some of the local characters. Milo is extremely professional and even though we had a gale to contend with at no time did we feel concerned as he is a competant and cautious seaman.At some stage in the future I would love my grandchildren to experience sailing with Milo, this would be such a rewarding experience for youngsters. Without hesitation we can say this was one of the most memorable holidays of our life.
Raewyn McP

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
22 Thank Travellers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milo C, Manager at Gourmet Sailing, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your review Raewyn, it was a delight getting to know you. We really enjoyed exploring the footsteps of Capt. Cook with you. Of all the places Kimberly and I have sailed in the world, we are convinced this is the most beautiful! It’s fantastic sharing with people who appreciate it so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday celebration”
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We celebrated a friends 21st. It was a beautiful night. Crew competent and very friendly. Food excellent. Amazing how crispy duck and bok choy could have been cooked so perfectly. Cruise just the right length.

Helpful?
19 Thank sbcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milo C, Manager at Gourmet Sailing, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. We really apreciate the feedback, and even more confirmation to keep the duck on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine dining on the peaceful fringe”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We celebrated our daughter's 21st with our friends and family on the good ship Sh'kinah, complete with crispy duck, fine wine, warm hospitality and impeccable service. The view of the city shoreline from our anchorage at the boulder bank brought back fond memories. We highly recommend "Gourmet Sailing" to anyone planning a special evening beyond the ordinary.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
20 Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milo C, Owner at Gourmet Sailing, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
What a lovely evening,and we're so glad you enjoyed the duck! We had reviewed our menu with the Chef only a few days earlier and wondered about keeping it on the menu - thanks to your feedback, the duck's there to stay now:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent teambuilding day”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This was a great teambuilding day. Our students do not often get the opportunity to go on board of a luxury yacht, let alone be responsible for sailing one! This is a ‘real’, as opposed to contrived, experience, engaging and challenging people of all ages and stages. The staff is very experienced and know when to let you do it and where to assist. Safety is their number one priority without wrapping the experience up in cotton wool! Thanks heaps.
Wendy van den Berg
Tutor at Whenua Iti Outdoors

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
21 Thank WendyvandenBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Sailing also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Gourmet Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing