We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it, but maybe ok for kids”
Review of Founders Park

Founders Park
Ranked #4 of 82 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth it, but maybe ok for kids”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I entered Founders Park primarily because it conveniently adjoined our hiking route and it includes a brewery/restaurant. The many replica old-time buildings perhaps provide a bit of an historical education, but I quickly lost interest. The maritime buildings with model ships and a short informative video on the history of the Nelson harbor were an exception, but once I later visited the far grander maritime museum in Auckland the Nelson offerings became forgettable. Children might enjoy the train ride. The woman attendant at the admission point seemed rather curt to us, the only such reception we received during our three-weeks holiday in New Zealand. Even the modest admission cost seemed too much, especially since many far more spectacular museum attractions in New Zealand offer free entry.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcbeaucoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    131
    49
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Children's Guide recommends this place because:”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

♥ it has wide open spaces for kids to run
♥ there are no cars (except for the odd resident vehicle)
♥ you can explore interesting old time shops
♥ the train runs at the weekends (check for times etc)
♥ locals can enter for free
♥ there is a huge plane for kids to board
♥ you can have birthday parties there!
♥ the cafe and it's playground are just a really nice place to while away a few hours!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Childrens_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Time out in Nelson”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A really interesting collection of buildings with some extras including a very good cafe (where they also brew beer). Good value and worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Brava, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you visit Nelson you must go there”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Amazing local brewery in a beautiful place. Beers, garden, culture, sun and great atmosphere. Enjoy local beers and food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank spainnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The entrance fee was well worth it. I found that the different stores and homes were great to look at. I have been to others (Howick Village - Auckland) and Gold Reef City - Johannesburg, South Africa) and I never tire of wanting to see how the people lived "back in the day".
Would recommend.
The Bakery was changing hands and teh new owner especially allowed me to look around and discussed his ideas.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roborhodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Founders Park also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Founders Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing