We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice atmosphere and interesting exhibits”
Review of Founders Park

Founders Park
Ranked #5 of 83 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice atmosphere and interesting exhibits”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Founders park has many little vintage shop exhibits that is supposed to resemble the Nelson city of the past. The detailed exhibits provide interest, but aren't exactly riveting. The Cafe however is worth a visit, with very good food, somewhat slow service (depending on the time of year) and popular local/artisan beers. Perfect for a quiet afternoon, and it certainly won't break the bank.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Camera-man123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    132
    51
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“History lives”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Could wander this place for hours and did. The beer tasting provided a welcome thirst quencher at lunch time.
Great to see the old buildings being used by businesses and to keep history alive.
If you like ships in bottles, then this is the place for you. Hundreds of intricate examples, including some multi-layered bottles.
Presentation and research of the information was very informative and well done, a real insight into the past.
Take Nan or Poppa with you if possible and let them share some of their memories with you. A great opportunity which shouldn't be missed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz65Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Visit with visitors”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We took our visitors to Founders Park for a morning wander. It is well worth a visit..it really "lives" old New Zealand. There are also several working workshops/shops to visit and spend money! The cafe restaurant is superb with great food and also their own Beer. There are several functions on during the year at Founders and always worth a visit. There is a park for the children as well as a train ...not always running..and a static aeroplane..lots of space for running around and enjoying. Old tractors..old buses..and the old stage Coach and loads more. Locals enter free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Founders Park and Nelson Arts Festival”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a great place for the Nelson Arts Festival. Families were wandering around with prams and kids on their push bikes. Artwork was on display and especially notable was the woman holding the kakapo at the entrance. Buskers had lots of room and spectators had seats in the sun and shade. We especially liked the audio street theatre where the participants became the actors. A big bonus was to meet my favourite author, Lloyd Jones, wandering around like the rest of us and pass the time of day with him. What a great event in a great place. Hopefully all the Nelson Arts Events here and at the Suter Theatre were seen by everyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cinquefoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Live some history”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This park is certainly worth a visit. We spent longer there than we anticipated as it was larger than we first thought. We enjoyed the little train ride even though we were all adults. It was good to see the steam locomotive being restored. It is still in bits, but for the mechanically minded very interesting. As we are over 70 yrs it was strange to see items we used when young in a museum. You have to take chance that anything will be open and working. The shops are hired by artisans and are operating businesses. Many of the displays were static or closed when we went, yet we found enough of interest for the visit to be worthwhile.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alys847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Founders Park also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Founders Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing